Saturday, May 19, 2018

71th Festival de Cannes Award Winners

Watching red carpet, soon the top prizes of Cannes 2018.

Saturday May 19th Morning Update
:  Un Certain Regard winners,  Queer Palm winners and more ...

Today AFP gives us the most interesting news as this year will be the first time in 71 years of the festival where those Cannes main awards that used to receive diplomas will receive a mini-palmes d'or!

Main Competition

Palme d'Or: 万引き家族 Manbiki Kazoku (Shoplifters), Hirokazu Kore-eda, Japan

Grand Prix: BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee, USA
Jury Award: كفرناحوم Capharnaüm (Capernaum), Nadine Labaki, Lebanon and France

Palme d'Or Special: Le Livre d'image (The Image Book), Jean-Luc Godard,  France

Best Director: Pawel Pawlikowski for Zimna wojna (Cold War), Poland, France and UK

Best Screenplay: (tie)
Alice Rohrwacher for Lazzaro Felice (My Bitter Land), Alice Rohrwacher, Italy, Switzerland, France and Germany
Nader Saelvar for Three Faces, Jafar Panahi, Iran

Best Actress: Samal Yeslyamova in Айка Ayka (My Little One), Sergey Dvortsevoy, Russia, Germany and Poland
Best Actor: Marcello Fonte in Dogman, Matteo Garrone, Italy and France

Camera d'Or: Girl, Lukas Dhont, Belgium and Netherlands

Short Films
Palme d'Or: All These Creatures, Charles William, Australia, 13'
Special Mention: On The Border, Wei Shujun, China, 15'

Un Certain Regard
Un Certain Regard Award: Gräns (Border), Ali Abbasi, Sweden and Denmark
Jury Special Prize: Chuva e cantoria na aldeia dos mortos (The Death and the Others), João Salaviza and Renée Nader Messor, Portugal and Brazil
Best Director: Sergey Loznitsa for Donbass, Germany, France, Ukraine, Netherlands and Romania
Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm'Barek for Sofia, Meryem Benm'Barek, France and Qatar
Best Performance: Victor Polster in Girl, Lukas Dhont, Belgium and Netherlands

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs (Directors' Fortnight)
Feature Films
SACD Award: En liberté! (The Trouble with You), Pierre Salvadori, France 
Arte Cinema Prize: Climax, Gaspar Noé, France, Belgium and USA
Label Europa Cinemas Prize: Troppa Grazia (Lucia's Grace), Gianni Zanasi, Italy, Greece and Spain
Short Films
Illy Prize: Skip Day, Ivete Lucas and Patrick Bresnan, USA and UK

Carrose d'Or: Martin Scorsese

Semaine de la Critique (Critics' Week)
Feature Films
Grand Prix: Diamantino, Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt, Portugal, France and Brazil
Rising Star Award: Félix Maritaud in Sauvage, Camille Vidal-Naquet, France
SACD Award: writers Benedikt Erlingsson and Ólafur Egill Egilsson for Kona fer í stríð (Woman at War), Benedikt Erlingsson, Iceland, France and Ukraine
GAN Foundation Support for Distribution Award: Sir, Rohena Gera, India and France
*Grand Rail d'OrKona fer í stríð (Woman at War), Benedikt Erlingsson, Iceland, France and Ukraine
Short Films
Canal+ Award: Un Jour de Mariage (A Wedding Day), Elias Belkeddar, Algeria and France, 15'
Cine Discovery Prize: Ektoras Malo: I teleftea mera tis chronias (Hector Malo - The Last Day of the Year), Jaqueline Lentzoou, Greece, 23'
*Rail d'Or: Pauline asservie, Charline Bourgeois-Tacquet, France
*Audience awards.

First Prize: El verano del león eléctrico (The Summer of the Electric Lion), Diego Céspedes, Universidad de Chile - ICEI, Chile, 22'
Second Prize: (tie)
Dong Wu Xiong Meng (The Storms in Our Blood), Di Shen, Shanghai Theater Academy, China, 31'
Kalendar (Calendar), Igor Poplauhin, Moscow School of New Cinema, Russia, 28'
Third Prize: Inanimate, Lucia Bulgheroni, NFTS, UK, 8'

Prix Arte International: The Color of the Skull, Sibs Shongwe-La Mer, South Africa

Collateral Awards

Main Competition: 버닝 Beoning (Burning), Chang-dong Lee, South Korea
Un Certain Regard: Girl, Lukas Dhont, Belgium and Netherlands
Semaine de la Critique: Egy Nap (One Day),  Zsófia Szilágyi, Hungary

Ecumenical Jury Award: كفرناحوم Capharnaüm (Capernaum), Nadine Labaki, Lebanon and France
Special Mention: BlacKkKlansman, Spike Lee, USA

L'Œil d'or Documentary Award: Samouni Road, Stefano Savona,  France and Italy (Quinzaine)
Special Mentions:
The Eyes of Orson Welles, Mark Cousins, UK
Libre, Michel Toesca, France

Queer Palm
Feature Film: Girl, Lukas Dhont, Belgium and Netherlands
Short Film: O Órfão (The Orphan), Carolina Markowicz, Brazil

Prix François Chalais: يوم الدين Yomeddine, A.B. Shawky, Egypt, USA and Austria
Prix Vulcain de l'artiste technicien:

Cannes Soundtrack Awards
Best Composer: Roma Zver, Grman Osipov and the groupe group for original soundtrack in Ле́то Leto (The Summer), Kirill Serebrennikov, Russia
Disque d'or d'honneur: John Travolta for making the world dance

Prix de la Meilleure Création Sonore: Gräns (Border), Ali Abbasi, Sweden and Denmark

16th Prix UniFrance Short Films
Grand Prix: Les Indes galantes, Clément Cogitore, France, 5'
Special Jury Prize: Grain de poussière, Léopold Kraus, France, 19'
Jury Prize Special Mention: Master of the Classe, Carine May and Hakim Zouhani, France, 26'
Prix Grand Action: Master of the Classe, Carine May and Hakim Zouhani, France, 26'
Prix des Diffuseurs: Artem Silendi, de Frank Ychou, France, 7'

Prix France Culture
Prix France Culture Cinéma Consécration: Claire Denis
Prix France Culture Cinéma des étudiants: Bertrand Mandico for Les garçons sauvages
Prix International Students Award: Stéphane de Freitas and Ladj Ly for A voix haute (documentary)

6th Pierre Angénieux
ExcelLens in Cinematography: Edward Lachman, USA
Highlight Work: Cecile Zhang, China

Palm Dog Awards
Palm Dog: Entire cast of Dogman by Matteo Garrone
Grand Prix du Jury: Diamantino by Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt featuring a cast of CGI dogs
Dogmanitarian Award: Vanessa Davies and her pet pug for inspiring Patrick

Women in Motion Award: Patty Jenkins
Women in Motion Young Talents Award: Carla Simón

Chopard Trophy for up-and-coming talent
Elizabeth Debicki
Joe Alwyn

Friday May 18th Morning Update: more awards including winners from La Quinzaine and Cinéfondation.
Friday May 18th Afternoon Update: Palm Dog award winners.  Queer Palm award ceremony is tonight; tomorrow FIPRESCI and Ecumenical Jury awards ceremony.

As there are some awards already announced and one parallel section over, will start the winners post today.  Post will be in progress until the Official Awards Ceremony next Saturday.

No comments yet