Friday, May 22, 2015

Day 10- Cannes 2015

Each day have been using the photo that Festival organizers publish in social media with "the films screened today". Most interesting is that today in photo composition there is a film that is NOT screened today! As I truly do not mind having Carol photo in composition, decided to use it even when there is a too-obvious mistake.

Today we have two awards ceremonies, the first for Cinéfondation and the second for Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. Also imagine that today we will start to learn about some collateral awards.

68th Festival de Cannes Award Winners - In Progress

Post has been updated with Directors' Fortnight award winners.

As several award winners have been announced, decided to start today the post with the winners.  Post will be updated constantly as awards winners are announced.

Post will be In Progress until next Sunday after the festival award ceremony is over.

47th Quinzaine des Réalisateurs Award Winners

La Quinzaine des Réalisateurs is a non-competitive parallel section of the Festival de Cannes but there are several awards that are given by section partners and sponsors.

Can't help but to notice that from all sections that have already announced their awards winners, many honors have gone to films from Latin American cinema and La Quinzaine is not an exception as has honored a film from Colombia.

Winners are in *LIGHT PURPLE.

2015 Cannes Short Films Award Winners - In Progress

The first short films award winners have been announced just a few minutes ago in a ceremony hosted by Gilles Jacob with the presence of the Short Films and Cinéfondation Jury.

Have to share that this year I really missed Gilles Jacob as he has such an elegant presence that current new festival president does not have. We miss you! But we know that age is merciless. Sigh.

To check the Cinéfondation award winners please go below. Award winners are in *LIGHT PURPLE.

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Day 9 - Cannes 2015

After today there are only three more films to go in the main competition; but more shocking, the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs and La Semaine de la Critique have their closing ceremony tomorrow, so believe it or not, tomorrow we will start to learn awards winners.

Oops! just realized that La Semaine de la Critique closing ceremony is TODAY!!! Oh gosh. Ceremony will be at 7pm local time.

54th Semaine de la Critique Award Winners

Today was La Semaine de la Critique Award Ceremony and the screening of the closing film La Vie en grand by Mathieu Vadepied.

The big winner is the Latin American cinema as two feature films from the region won top awards.

Paulina (or La Patota) by Santiago Mitre is the big winner as won the top award, the Grand Prix.

Cesar Augusto Acevedo's La Tierra y la Sombra wins the SACD Award (Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques) that supports new authors with a cash prize and also the Visionary Award that rewards outstanding creativity and innovation.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Day 8 - Cannes 2015

Today is the day of Jia Zhangke, one of my most admired contemporary Chinese directors so will be no surprise when I share that I'm extremely pleased with yesterday's positive reactions via social media. That's the good news as the bad news are about the festival winding down as after today there are only four more films in the competition and three more days to start learning about the first awards.

Cannes 2015 Women in Motion Talks #4

Not often we have the opportunity to hear two women producers talk about the industry much less about the role of women in the industry. Last Monday two women talked about overcoming obstacles, encouraging younger women and how Carol by Todd Haynes came about.

Carol producers, Christine Vachon and  Elizabeth Karlsen respond questions from Alison Brower, deputy editorial director of THR. Here are some highlights from the article in THR, that if you wish to read in full go here.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Day 7 - Cannes 2015

My day started with the Salma Hayek Women in Motion Talk #2 and have to admit that was the best way to start the day. Suggest you watch video is interesting, direct to point and even funny in the right moments.

My spontaneous reaction to today schedule was that films were not that exciting today and seems that I was right, as today was really easy (and fast) to write post.

Cannes 2015 Women in Motion Talks #3

We are lucky, here is the third Women in Motion Talks #3 full video.

You have to be patient as English is not theit first language of any of the three women but some things are truly interesting as shows a different perspective as perhaps what happens in France and other countries is not similar to what happens in the American industry. I was thinking that with all the THR and Kering resources this talk would have been a lot better if each of the women where talking in their own language. Then do subtitles for English audiences. What a wasted opportunity that I hope doesn't repeat again. Sigh.

Cannes 2015 Women in Motion Talks #2

Finally video with full talk.

Excerpt from THR article. To see full article go here.

The "Women in Motion" talks, presented by The Hollywood Reporter and luxury group Kering, continued Saturday with a Salma Hayek and Matthias Schoenaerts conversation that tackled gender disparity in Hollywood.

Monday, May 18, 2015

Day 6 - Cannes 2015

After the tumultuous yesterday, today feels like a very tranquil day in Cannes. Still today there are films that are must-be-seen for me. Perhaps what someone say in social media is true, today is the best cinema-day of the year as in one day some of you lucky Cannes people will be able to watch films by Apichatpong Weerasethakul and Miguel Gomes; me, I add Mizoguchi and Costa Gavras to the mix in an excellent cinema-day.

Sunday, May 17, 2015

Day 5 - Cannes 2015

Today is the day Cannes screens my 2015 Cannes Check #1 film, the one that have more than 2 years waiting for, the one Todd Haynes says took 15 years from project to film, the second film to drive English-speaking critics/viewers "crazy" since yesterday. Carol by Todd Haynes. Ah!

Keep forgetting to invite you all to return each day to the previous day post as usually add more things to post, like photos and videos. So now you know.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Day 4 - Cannes 2015

The fourth day brings to Cannes the first monumental film flop and the dubious honor goes to an American film.

Cannes 2015 Women in Motion Talks #1

Today I'm sharing the first Women in Motion Talk and will continue to share as soon as video becomes available.

The “Women in Motion” talks kicked off Thursday with a spirited discussion with Isabella Rossellini and French producer Claudie Ossard about aging in Hollywood and why there’s a lack of female representation behind the camera.

No comments yet