2018/2019 Key Dates
2018 Film Critics Awards News: Today, February 4, Winners from Chicago IndependentFCC. Post has become FINAL!

Sunday, May 27, 2012

65th Festival de Cannes Award Winners

Great ceremony with great awards, some will not be pleased, but I am.  To check winners at official site go here. The Jury gave a post-awards press conference I suggest to watch to learn some reasons why they gave the awards to the honored films. Go here.

Main Competition

Palme d’Or: Amour (Love), Michael Haneke, France, Austria, and Germany

Grand Prix: Reality, Matteo Garrone, Italy and France

Jury Prize: The Angels’ Share, Ken Loach, UK and France

Best Director: Carlos Reygadas for Post Tenebras Lux, Mexico, France, and Netherlands
Best Screenplay: După dealuri (Beyond the Hills), Cristian Mungiu, Romania

Best Actress: Cosmina Stratan and Cristina Flutur in După dealuri (Beyond the Hills), Cristian Mungiu, Romania
Best Actor: Mads Mikkelsen Jagten (The Hunt), Thomas Vinterberg, Denmark

Camera d’Or: Beasts of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin, USA

Short Films
Palme d’Or: Sessiz-be Deng (Silent), L. Rezan Yeşilbaş, Turkey

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Prize: Después de Lucía, Michel Franco, Mexico
Special Jury Prize: Le Grand Soir, Benoît Delépine and Gustave Kervern, France
Special Mention: Djeca (Children), Aida Begić, Bosnia Herzegovina
Un Certain Regard Award for Best Actress (tie): Suzanne Clement in Laurence Anyways, Xavier Dolan, Canada, France and Emilie Dequenne in A Perdre La raison (Loving without Reason), Joachim Lafosse, Belgium, Luxembourg, France, and Switzerland

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs (Directors' Fortnight)

Feature Films
SACD Prize: Camille redouble (Camille Rewinds), Noémie Lvovsky, France
Special Mention: Ernest et Celestine, Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar and Benjamin Renner, France, Belgium and Luxembourg
Arte Cinema Prize: No, Pablo Larraín, USA and Chile
Label Europa Cinemas Prize: El Taaib, Merzak Allouache, Algeria and France

Short Films
Illy Prize: The Curse, Fyzal Boulifa,UK and Morocco

Carrosse d'Or: Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Semaine de la Critique (Critic's Week)

Feature Films
Grand Prize: Aquí y Allá, Antonio Méndez Esparza, Spain, USA and Mexico
Visionary Award: Sofia’s Last Ambulance, Ilian Metev, Germany, Croatia and Bulgaria
SACD Prize: Les Voisins de Dieu (God's Neighbors), Meni Yaesh, Israel and France
ACID/CCAS Support: Los Salvajes (The Wild Ones), Alejandro Fadel, Argentina

Grand Rail d'Or: Hors les murs (Beyond the Walls), David Lambert, Belgium, Canada and France

Short Films
Best Short Film: Circle Line, Shin Suwon, South Korea
Special Mention: O Duplo (Doppelgänger), Juliana Rojas, Brazil
Discovery Award: Un Dimanche matin (A Sunday Morning), Damien Manivel, France
Petit Rail d'Or: Ce n’est pas un film de cow-boys (It’s not a Cowboys Movie), Benjamin Parent, France


First Prize: ДОРОГА НА Doroga na (The Road To), Taisia Igumentseva,VGIK, Russia
Second Prize: Abigail, Matthew James Reilly, NYU, USA
Third Prize: Los Anfitriones (The Hosts), Miguel Angel Moulet, EICTV, Cuba

The Atelier Arte Prize: In Your Name by Marco van Geffen, Netherlands, Germany and France

Collateral Awards

Main Competition: В тумане V Tumane (In the Fog), Sergei Loznitsa, Germany, Netherlands, Belarus, Russia and Latvia
Un Certain Regard: Beasts of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin, USA
Quinzaine des Réalisateurs: Rengaine (Hold Back), Rachid Djaidani, France

Ecumenical Jury Award: Jagten (The Hunt), Thomas Vinterberg, Denmark
Special Mention: Beasts of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin, USA

Prix de la Jeunesse: Holy Motors, Leos Carax, France
Prix Regards Jeunes: Beasts of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin, USA

Prix François Chalais: Les Chevaux de Dieu (God’s Horses), Nabil Ayouch, France, Morocco, Tunisia

Queer Palm
Feature Film: Laurence Anyways, Xavier Dolan, Canada and France
Short Film: Ce n’est pas un film de cow-boys (It’s not a Cowboys Movie), Benjamin Parent, France

Palm Dog: Banjo and Poppy in Sightseers, Ben Wheatley, UK

No comments yet