Thursday, May 23, 2019

72nd Festival de Cannes Award Winners - In Progress

Post is a work in progress until after the closing ceremony next Saturday, May 25.

As some winners were announced yesterday and more today, Thursday May, 23, the 2019 Cannes awards post will start now and will be updated each day until the last day of the festival.

Main Competition

Palme d'Or:

Grand Prix:
Jury Award:

Best Director:
Best Screenplay:

Best Actress:
Best Actor:

Camera d'Or

Short Films
Palme d'Or:
Special Mention

Un Certain Regard
Un Certain Regard Award: A Vida Invisível de Eurídice Gusmão (The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão), Karim Aïnouz, Brazil
Jury Prize: O Que Arde (A Sun That Never Sets), Oliver Laxe, Spain, France and Luxembourg
Special Jury Prize: Liberté, Albert Serra, France, Portugal and Spain
Jury's Coup de Coeur (tie)
La femme de mon frère (A Brother's Love), Monia Chokri, Canada
The Climb, Michael Covino, USA
Jury Special Mention: Jeanne (Joan of Arc), Bruno Dumont, France
Best Director: Kanteir Balagov for Дылда Dylda (Beanpole), Russia
Best Performance: Chiara Mastroianni in Musique de chambre (aka Chambre 212), Christophe Honoré, France

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs (Directors' Fortnight)
Feature Films
SACD Award: Une fille facile (An Easy Girl), Rebecca Zlotowski, France
Arte Cinema Prize:
Label Europa Cinemas Prize: Alice et le maire (Alice and the Mayor), Nicolas Pariser, France
Short Films
Illy Prize: Hãy Tỉnh Thức và Sẵn Sàng (Stay Awake, Be Ready), An Pham Thien, Vietnam, South Korea and USA

Carrose d'Or: John Carpenter

Semaine de la Critique (Critics' Week)
Feature Films
Grand Prix: J’ai perdu mon corps (I Lost My Body), Jérémy Clapin, France
Rising Star Award: Ingvar Sigurosson in Hvítur, Hvítur Dagur (A White, White Day), Hlynur Pálmason, Iceland, Denmark and Sweden
SACD Award:  Nuestras Madres (Our Mothers), César Díaz, Belgium and France
GAN Foundation Support for Distribution Award: The Jokers Films, french distibutor for Vivarium, Lorcan Finnegan, Ireland and Belgium
*Grand Rail d'Or: Nuestras Madres (Our Mothers), César Díaz, Belgium and France
Short Films
Canal+ Award: Ikki illa meint, Andrias Høgenni, Denmark and Faroe Islands, 21'
Cine Discovery Prize: 南方少女 She Runs, Qiu Yang, China and France, 20'
*Rail d'Or:
*Audience awards

First Prize: Mano a Mano, Louise Courvoisier, France, 23' CinéFabrique
Second Prize: Hieu, Richard Van, USA, 24' CalArts
Third Prize (tie)
أمبيانس Ambience, Wisam Al Jafari, Palestine, 15' Dar al-Kalima University College of Arts and Culture
Duszyczka (The Little Soul), Barbara Rupik, Poland, 9' PWSFTviT (animation)

Prix ArteKino International: Nezouh, Soudade Kaadan, Syria

Collateral Awards

Main Competition: It Must Be Heaven, Elia Suleiman, France, Germany, Turkey and Canada
Un Certain Regard: Дылда Dylda (Beanpole), Kantemir Balagov, Russia
Quinzaine des Réalisateurs: The Lighthouse, Robert Eggers, USA and Canada

Ecumenical Jury Award: A Hidden Life, Terrence Malick, USA and Germany

AFCAE Art House Cinema Award:  기생충 Gisaengchoong (Parasite), Bong Joon-ho, South Korea
Special Mention: Les Misérables, Ladj Ly, France

L'Œil d'or Documentary Award (tie)
For Sama, Waad Al Kateab, UK
La Cordillera de los Sueños (The Cordillera of Dreams), Patricio Guzmán, Chile and France

Queer Palm
Feature FilmPortrait de la jeune fille en feu (Portrait of a Lady On Fire), Céline Sciamma, France
Short Film: Η Απόσταση Ανάμεσα στον Ουρανό κι Εμάς The Distance Between Us and the Sky, Vasilis Kekatos, Greece and France, 9'

Prix François ChalaisA Hidden Life, Terrence Malick, USA and Germany

Prix de la Citoyenneté: Les Misérables, Ladj Ly, France
Prix du Cinéma positif: Les Misérables, Ladj Ly, France

Prix CST de l’Artiste-Technicien: Flora Volpelière and Julien Poupard for Les Misérables, Ladj Ly, France
Special Mention: Claire Mathon for Portrait de la jeune fille en feu (Portrait of a Lady On Fire), Céline Sciamma, France and Atlantique, Mati Diop, France, Senegal and Belgium

Cannes Soundtrack Awards
Disque d'Or for Best Composer: Alberto Iglesias for Pain and Glory by Pedro Almodovar
Disque d'Or d'Honneur: Jean-Michel Blais for Matthias and Maxime by Xavier Dolan

Prix de la Meilleure Creation Sonore: O Que Arde (A Sun That Never Sets), Oliver Laxe, Spain, France and Luxembourg

17th Prix UniFrance Short Films
Grand Prix: Ahmed's Song, Foued Mansour
Special Jury Prize: Due West, Alice Douard
Special Mention: My Branch So Thin, Dinara Droukarova
Prix Be TV: One After the Other, Nicolas Pegon
Prix Movistar+: Per Aspera Ad Astra, Franck Dion
Prix RTBF: Tomorrow Will Be Brighter, Jean-Baptiste Del Amo

Prix France Culture
Cinema Consécration: Margaret Menegoz
Cinema des etudiants: Sunset, László Nemes, Hungary
Prix International Students Award: Mes provinciales, Jean-Paul Civeyrac, France

7th Pierre Angénieux
ExcelLens in Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel, France
Highlight Work: Modhura Palit, India

Palm Dog Awards
Palm Dog: Brandy in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Grand Prix du Jury (tie)
Bello in Little Joe
Canine cast in Aasha and the Street Dogs
Underdog Award:  The Unadoptable
Dogmanitarian Award: Google

Women in Motion Award: Gong Li
Women in Motion Young Talents Award: Eva Trobisch

Chopard Trophy for up-and-coming talent
Florence Pugh, UK
Francois Civil, France

No comments yet