Tuesday, January 07, 2020

2020 BAFTA Awards Nominations

A few minutes ago the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) announced the nominations for the current awards edition honoring films released during 2019 and undoubtedly these are the first nominations that could give us a better predictor to Oscars nominations as are selected by the industry and not the press.

The nominations were announced by BAFTA Chief Executive Amanda Berry along Ella Balinska and Asa Butterfield at BAFTA Piccadilly in London and at post end is the video with the announcement.

This year there are 39 feature films honored with a nomination.  Joker leads the pack with 11 nominations followed by Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood and The Irishman each with 10, 1917 with 9 and Jojo Rabbit with 6; then with 5 each Little Woman, Marriage Story and The Two Popes. Not surprising anymore, Netflix got 23 nominations in total followed by Sony with 16.

This year the British Academy will honor for the first time a new category, casting.  Hope other awards follow especially after noticing that all five nominated films have female casting directors or co-directors, which makes me wonder if director's gender had anything to do with NOT honoring this category before here and everywhere else.  Sigh.

Not an hour has passed after the nominations announcement and major controversy has become the absence of what they call "person-of-color" nominations.  Some even went to mention that "there was no space" for Harriet's Cynthia Erivo, Hustlers' Jennifer Lopez, Dolemite Is My Name's Eddie Murphy or The Farewell's Awkwafina (although Awkawfina landed a Rising Star nomination); Lupita Nyong'o and Antonio Banderas were also snubbed by the British Academy.  In case you're wondering what media calls "person-of-color" there you got some examples.  Will not elaborate, so that's it, but it's kind of upsetting, isn't?

Interesting enough is Scarlett Johansson getting two nominations (leading and supporting) and also, Margo Robbie getting two (both supporting) which of course has been motive to claim that one of their two spaces should be occupied by another actress.  Come on people, you honor their performances NOT the color of their skin!

Most are talking about The Souvenir by Joanna Hogg BUT obviously they do not follow cinema awards as film was multi-nominated in last year's edition.

The Nominations

Best Film
The Irishman
Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood

Outstanding British Film
For Sama
Sorry We Missed You
The Two Popes

Film Not In The English Language
The Farewell
For Sama
Pain and Glory
Portrait of A Lady on Fire

American Factory
Apollo 11
Diego Maradona
For Sama
The Great Hack

Animated Film
Frozen 2
A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
Toy Story 4

Sam Mendes for 1917
Martin Scorsese for The Irishman
Todd Phillips for Joker
Quentin Tarantino for Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood
Bong Joon-ho for Parasite

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Bait, Mark Jenkin writer/director, Kate Byers and Linn Waite producers
For Sama, Waad al-Kateab director/producer, and Edward Watts director
Maiden, Alex Holmes
Only You, Harry Wootliff writer/director
Retablo, Alvaro Delgado-Aparicio writer/director

Leading Actress
Jessie Buckley in Wild Rose
Scarlett Johansson in Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan in Little Woman
Charlize Theron in Bomshell
Renée Zellweger in Judy

Supporting Actress
Laura Dern in Marriage Story
Scarlett Johansson in Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh in Little Women
Margot Robbie in Bombshell
Margot Robbie in Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood

Leading Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio in Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood
Adam Driver in Marriage Story
Taron Egerton in Rocketman
Joaquin Phoenix in Joker
Jonathan Pryce in The Two Popes

Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks in A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins in The Two Popes
Al Pacino in The Irishman
Joe Pesci in The Irishman
Brad Pitt in Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood

Rising Star Award
Kaitlyn Dever
Kelvin Harrison Jr.
Jack Lowden
Micheal Ward

Original Screenplay
Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, and Katie Silberman for Booksmart
Rian Johnson for Knives Out
Noah Baumbach for Marriage Story
Quentin Tarantino for Once Upon a Time... In Hollywood
Han Jin Won and Bong Joon-ho for Parasite

Adapted Screenplay
Steven Zaillian for The Irishman
Taika Waititi for Jojo Rabbit
Todd Phillips and Scott Silver for Joker
Greta Gerwig for Little Women
Anthony McCarten for The Two Popes

Roger Deakins for 1917
Rodrigo Prieto for The Irishman
Lawrence Sher for Joker
Phedon Papamichael for Le Mans '66 (aka Ford v Ferrari)
Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse

Special Visual Effects
Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, and Dominic Tuohy for 1917
Dan Deleeuw and Dan Sudick for Avengers: Endgame
Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, and Pablo Helman for The Irishman
Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, and Adam Valdez for The Lion King
Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, and Dominic Tuohy for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Thelma Schoonmaker for The Irishman
Tom Eagles for Jojo Rabbit
Jeff Groth for Joker
Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker for Le Mans '66 (aka Ford v Ferrari)
Fred Raskin for Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood

Shayna Markowitz for Joker
Douglas Aibel and Francine Maisler for Marriage Story
Victoria Thomas for Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood
Sarah Crowe for The Personal History of David Copperfield
Nina Gold for The Two Popes

Production Design
Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales for 1917
Bob Shaw and Regina Graves for The Irishman
Ra Vincent and Nora Sopkova for Jojo Rabbit
Mark Friedberg and Kris Moran for Joker
Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh for Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood

Costume Design
Christopher Peterson and Sandy Powell for The Irishman
Mayes C. Rubeo for Jojo Rabbit
Jany Temime for Judy
Jacqueline Durran for Little Women
Arianne Phillips for Once Upon A Time... In Hollywood

Make Up & Hair
Naomi Donne for 1917
Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro and Anne Morgan for Bombshell
Kay Georgiou and Nicki Ledermann for Joker
Jeremy Woodhead for Judy
Lizzie Yianni Georgiou in Rocketman

Original Score
Thomas Newman for 1917
Michael Giacchino for Jojo Rabbit
Hildur Guđnadóttir for Joker
Alexandre Desplat for Little Women
John Williams for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, and Stuart Wilson for 1917
Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, and Dean Zupancic for Joker
David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, and Donald Sylvester for Le Mans '66 (aka Ford v Ferrari)
Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan for Rocketman
David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood for Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

British Short Film
Azaar, Myriam Raja
Goldfish, Hector Dockrill
Kamali, Sasha Rainbow
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You're a Girl), Caron Dysinger
The Trap, Lena Headey

British Short Animation
Grandad Was A Romantic, Maryam Mohaher
In Her Boots, Kathrin Steinbacher
The Magic Boat, Naaman Azhari and Lilia Laurel

To check nominations at official site go here. BAFTA awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, February 2 at the Royal Albert Hall, London; will be hosted by Graham Norton and will broadcast on BBC One in the UK and all major territories around the world.

Nominations Video

No comments yet