Monday, February 20, 2012

2012 Writers Guild Awards Winners

Last night the guild had the awards ceremony and to check winners in all categories including TV go here. Winners are in *BLUE.


A few minutes ago the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced the nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during 2011 and here they are for the film categories.

Original Screenplay
50/50, Will Reiser
Bridesmaids, Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig
*Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen
Win Win, Tom Mcarthy
Young Adult, Diablo Cody

Adapted Screenplay
*The Descendants, Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, and Jim Rash
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Steven Zaillian
The Help, Tate Taylor
Hugo, John Logan
Moneyball, Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin

Documentary Screenplay
*Better This World, Katie Galloway & Kelly Duane de la Vega
If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front, Marshall Curry and Matthew Hamachek
Nostalgia for the Light, Patricio Guzmán
Pina, Wim Wenders
Position Among the Stars, Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich, Leonard Retel Helmrich
Senna, Manish Pandey

One screenplay I truly wish to win this award, the one written by Patricio Guzmán; no other favorites but I really enjoy the amazing scripts by Diablo Cody so hope this one is good (haven’t seen film yet) and she gets the award. Not sure how these nominees could reflect the possible Oscar nominations, but I’m almost sure that Steven Zaillian has to get a nod and probably will be the one he share credits with Aaron Sorkin.

To check the official announcement that includes TV categories go here. Award ceremony will be Sunday, February 19, 2012.

No comments yet