Sunday, June 21, 2009

12th Shanghai International Film Festival Award Winners

Today the fest announced the Jin Jue Award winners and here they are.

Best Feature Film: Original, Antonio Tublén and Alexander Brøndsted, Demnark and Sweden, 2009
Using this title for a film is dangerous, almost suicidal. But the film more than met the challenge the title lays down. A light, touching and subversive study of mental illness that is compassionate and never sentimental. From the opening image of a fish tank being peeled open to the Mexican wrestlers tumbling in the heroes’ mind we know we had found the best film …… ORGINAL!

Jury Grand Prix: 寻找智美更登 The Search, Pema Tseden (aka Wanma Caidan), China,
The most challenging film we saw, almost a meditation in patience as well as an exercise in it for the viewer, uncompromising but funny and humane too. We look forward to many more films from Tibet.

Jury Award: 白银帝国 Baiyin diguo (Empire of Silver), Christina Yao, China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, 2009
To the director and her cast and crew for the detail and craft on such an epic scale and in such extraordinary locations. And for reminding us, especially at this time that bankers should be kind and righteous.

Best Director: Julius Sevcik for Normal (Angels Gone), Czech Republic and Macedonia, 2009
A dazzling and technically bold director in command of all elements delivering his challenging vision of the serial killer genre.

Best Actress: Simone Tang in Kærestesorger (Aching Hearts), Nils Malmros, Denmark, 2009
For the control and clarity of complex emotions perfectly captured by a performance that lures us in until we find ourselves, like the young hero, repulsed.

Best Actor: Sverrir Gudnason in Original, Antonio Tublén and Alexander Brøndsted, Demnark and Sweden, 2009
Is he acting, fantasizing, fooling everyone – and himself – or is he simply crazy – we never really know. What we know is that this young actor’s brilliant, sensitive, humorous and vulnerable performance is absolutely mesmerizing.

Best Screenplay: Fabio Bonifacci and Giulio Manfredonia for Si può fare (We Can Do That), Giulio Manfredonia, Italy, 2008
Their screenplay documents with wit and clarity - a true story of the way political philosophy can intersect with social need and build something truly transforming.

Best Cinematography: Nicolas Guicheteau and Hans Meier for Nulle part terre promise (Nowhere Promised Land), Emmanuel Finkiel, France, 2008
This is the most contentious decision. It is not in the classical tradition but more an acknowledgement that cinematography in the modern era can be about ways of seeing; what you look at and how it looks back at you.

Best Music: Hyoung-woo for Yeong-hwa-neun yeong-hwa-da (Rough Cut), Jang Hun, South Korea, 2008
Modern, pulpy, deliberately undermining and enlivening the gangster genre.

To check the announcement go here.

In the Asian New Talent competition these are the winners.

Best Film: Scandal Makers, Kang Hyung-chul, Korea
The jury praises Mr. Hyung-chul outstanding performance on controlling the film. In this film, the director interpreters various types of film expressions, successfully achieved a comedy effect of different unique characteristics, which evokes audience’s hearty joy.

Jury Prix: Be Calm and Count to Seven, Ramtin Lavafipour, Iran
For its spirit of innovation throughout the film. The film exceeds the traditional way of filmmaking in Iran, methods of shooting are innovative. Judging by this work, we can easily see the hard effort of the director. By presenting this award, jury wants to encourage the director’s enthusiasm towards filmmaking. Hopefully, we could see more great pieces by him.

Best Director: Zhao Ye for Jalainur, China
To express our compliment on his great directorial skills This film is shot at a far north frontier city in China, revealing its solitude and isolation. Although the image of the film seems plain, it holds the connotation of meaning of life to provoke the audience. Further, the extremely natural acting of the actors emphasized the theme of this film, ordinary life may have extraordinary spots.

To check the announcement go here.

No comments yet