Monday, February 11, 2019

31st Annual Scripter Award Winner

For those that do not believe this is a very unusual awards season this group gave another example of how weird the season is and how unpredictable has become as top award winner did not receive an Oscars nomination!   Just because relevance, TV winner also has no Emmy nomination. 

Scripter award usually predicts the best adapted screenplay Oscar winner but this year its streak is over; still is a well-deserved award for a film that many consider deserved a whole lot more attention during this awards season.

Great director Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini and Peter Rock were honored with the Scripter Award and because really enjoyed the miniseries will share the TV winner: A Very English Scandal.

Winner is in *BLUE. To check more info about winners go official site here.

The USC Libraries have named the finalists for the current edition of the award that honors the 2018 best film and television adaptations, as well as the works on which they are based.  Seems this year the award that helps to predict/guess the Oscar Adapted screenplay winner could fail to so as there are several major Oscar contenders that did not make the cut.

Chaired by USC Professor and past president of the Writers Guild of America, West, Howard Rodman, the 2019 Scripter selection committee chose the finalists from a field of 90 film and 55 TV adaptations.

After last year outstanding seven nominees -due to a tie- this year the award goes back to the usual five nominations, so there was no space for scripts with high buzz like BlacKkKlansman and First Man.  Then A Star is Born is not eligible for the Scripters as it is not based on a published source.  Out of the Scripter nominees, Can You Ever Forgive Me? and If Beale Could Talk are considered front-runners for an Oscar nomination.

These are the nominees

Ryan Coogle and Joe Robert Cole for Black Panther, based on the character created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty and author Lee Israel for Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin and David Schneider for The Death of Stalin, based on the graphic novel by Fabien Nury and Thierry Robin

Barry Jenkins and author James Baldwin for If Beale Street Could Talk

*Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini for Leave No Trace based on the novel My Abandonment by Peter Rock

To check all nominees go official site here.  Awards ceremony will be on February 9 in the USC Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library.

No comments yet