Wednesday, August 25, 2021

94th Academy Awards International Feature Film Submissions

Another unusual year with so many things happening at once and even do there is no country with submission yet, news with submission deadline start to appear in countries' official sites; so, let's start the one post I really enjoy doing as becomes a list of the best cinema from the world with many must be seen movies.

First a rapid review of category rules, regulations and general info.

As previously announced, the eligibility period for Academy Awards consideration will return to the standard December 31 deadline: a feature film must have a qualifying release date between March 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021. With theatrical exhibition still impacted by the pandemic this year, eligibility requirements for the 94th Academy Awards will be consistent with the addendums made for the 93rd Awards season and can be found at official site.

For films that open in theaters, the six qualifying U.S. metropolitan areas are Los Angeles County; the City of New York; the Bay Area; Chicago, Illinois; Miami, Florida; and Atlanta, Georgia, and apply to General Entry categories as well as the Documentary and Short Film categories. Following this year, the Academy intends to expand the qualifying requirements for the 95th Awards.

In the International Feature Film category, key rule amendments made in the preliminary round of voting for the 93rd Awards and approved in January 2021 remain unchanged. This includes an expanded shortlist of 15 films and members from all Academy branches being invited to opt in and participate in the preliminary and nominations rounds of voting. Members must meet a minimum viewing requirement to be eligible to vote in the category. If you wish to read the complete Rule Thirteen - Special Rules for the International Feature Film Award go here.

International Feature Film category submission deadline is Monday, November 1, 2021 which is exactly one month more from what it was standard pre-Covid. Other important dates are Oscars Shortlists Announcement on Tuesday, December 21st, 2021, Oscars Nominations Announcement on Tuedays, February 8th, 2022, and Awards ceremony on Sunday, March 27, 2022.

The List

Albania: Dy Luanë drejt Venecias (Two Lions to Venice), Jonid Jorgji
Armenia: Երբ որ քամին հանդարտվի Si le vent tombe (Should the Wind Drop), Nora Martirosyan #Cannes2020 #lAcid
Austria: Große Freiheit (Great Freedom), Sebastian Meise #Cannes2021 #UnCertainRegard Jury Prize Award winner

Brazil: Deserto Particular (Private Dessert), Aly Muritiba #BiennaleCinema2021 Giornate degli Autori People's Choice Award winner
Bulgaria: Ctpax Strah (Fear), Ivaylo Hristov

Cambodia: ប៊ូឌីញ ស Bodeng Sar (White Building), Kavich Neang #BiennaleCinema2021 Orizzonti competition
Canada: Les oiseaux ivres (Drunken Birds), Ivan Grbovic
Colombia: Memoria, Apichatpong Weerasethakul #Cannes2021 Jury Award winner
Croatia: Tereza37, Danilo Šerbedžija
Czech Republic: Zátopek, David Ondříček

Ecuador: Sumergible (Submersible), Alfredo León León
Estonia: Vee peal (On The Water), Peeter Simm

Findland: Hytti Nro 6 (Compartment Number 6), Juho Kuosmanen #Cannes2021 Grand Prix winner
France: Titane, Julia Ducournau #Cannes2021 Palme d'Or winner

Georgia: მეოთხე ბრაიტონი Brighton 4th, Levan Koguashvili
Germany: Ich bin dein mensch (I'm Your Man), Maria Schrader #Berlinale2021 Silver Bear for Best Leading Performance
Greece: Digger, Georgis Grigorakis #Berlinale2020 Panorama CICAE award winner

Hungary: Post Mortem, Péter Bergendy

Iceland: Dýrið (Lamb), Valdimar Jóhannsson #Cannes2021 #UnCertainRegard Prize of Originality winner
Indonesia: Yuni, Kamila Andini #TIFF2021 Platform Prize winner
Ireland: Foscadh (Shelter), Seán Breathnach
Israel: יהי בוקר Let It Be Morning, Eran Kolirin #Cannes2021 Un Certain Regard

Japan: ドライブ・マイ・カー Doraibu mai kâ (Drive My Car), Ryûsuke Hamaguchi #Cannes2021 Best Screenplay, FIPRESCI, Ecumenical, and AFCAE Art House Cinema awards winner

Kosovo: Zgjoi (Hive), Blerta Basholli #Sundance2021 World Cinema: Audience Award, Director Award and Grand Jury Prize winner
Kyrgyzstan: Шамбала Shambala, Artykpai Suyundukov

Latvia: Bedre (The Pit), Daces Pūces
Lithuania: Šuolis (The Jump), Giedrės Žickytė (documentary)

Malawi: Fatsani (Fatsani: A Tale of Survival), Gift Sukez Sukail
Malta: Luzzu, Alex Camilleri #Sundance2021 World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award winner
Mexico: Noche de Fuego (Prayers for the Stolen), Tatiana Huezo #Cannes2021 #UnCertainRegard Special Mention
Morocco: علّي صوتك Haut et Fort (Casablanca Beats), Nabil Ayouch #Cannes2021 Competition Prix du Cinéma Positif winner

Netherlands: Do Not Hesitate, Shariff Korver
North Macedonia: Сестри Sestri (Siterhood), Dina Duma #KarlovyVary2021 East of the West Special Jury Prize winner

Peru: Manco Cápac (Poweful Chief), Henry Vallejo
Poland: Żeby nie było śladów (Leave No Traces), Jan P. Matuszyński #Venezia78 Competition

Serbia: Oaza (Oasis), Ivan Ikić #BiennaleCinema2020 Giornate degli Autori Label Europa Cinemas award winner
Slovakia: Cenzorka (107 Mothers), Peter Kerekes (documentary-fiction hybrid) #BienaleCinema2021 Orizzonti Best Screenplayer Award winner
Slovenia: Sanremo, Miroslav Mandić
Somalia: زوجة حفار القبور The Gravedigger's Wife, Khadar Ayderus Ahmed #Cannes2021 Semaine de la Critique competition
South Korea: 모가디슈 Mogadishu (Escape from Mogadishu), Ryoo Seung-Wan
Spain: El Buen Patrón (The Good Boss), Fernando León de Aranoa #SSIFF2021 Competition
Switzerland: Olga, Elie Grappe #Cannes2021 Semaine de la Critique Competition SACD Award winner

Taiwan: 瀑布 Pu Bu (The Falls), Chung Mong-Hong #BiennaleCinema2021 Orizzonti Competition
Tunisia: فرططو الذهب Papillon d'Or (Golden Butterfly), Abdelhamid Bouchnak

Ukraine: Погані дороги Plokhiye dorogi (Bad Roads), Natalya Vorozhbit #BiennaleCinema2020 #SIdC Verona Film Club Award winner

Check available info and trailer @MOC
Check available posters at pinterest


Azerbaijan: submission deadline by September 20.
Bangladesh: submission deadline by October 14.
Bosnia Herzegovina: submission deadline by October 11.
Costa Rica: submission deadline by September 10.
Denmark: Shortlist with 3 films; selection on October 25.
Ghana: submission deadline by September 25
Italy: submission deadline by October 13, selection on October 26
Jordan: submission deadline before October 15.
Kenya: submission deadline by October 8; 18 films registered; selection on October 26.
Malaysia: submission deadline by October 3.
Montenegro: submission deadline by October 11.
Norway: shortlist with 3 films, selection on October 25.
Nigeria: submission deadline by October 4
Pakistan: submission deadline by September 20
Paraguay: submission deadline by September 6
Portugal: shortlist with 5 films; selection on Octobber 29
Romania: submissions deadline by September 15; selection by October 15.
South Africa: submission deadline by September 17.
Sweden: Shortlist with 3 films; selection on October 21.
Turkey: submission deadline by September 11.
Uruguay: submission deadline by October 7; selection after October 20.

No comments yet