Saturday, February 29, 2020

34th Teddy Awards Award Winners

This edition top award winner goes to Futur Drei by Faraz Shariat, Jury Award to Rizi by Tsai Ming-Lang, documentary award to Si c’était de l’amour by Patric China and Best Short Film to Playback. Ensayo de una Despedida by Agustina Comedi.  Futur Drei also won the Readers' Award and Welcome to Chechnya by David France the Activist Award.

Jury statement for Best Feature Film Teddy.
This year’s award for best feature is a politically disruptive portrait of a new generation. An extraordinary achievement for a director so early in his career, this film draws on contemporary issues and aesthetic trends to forecast not only the future of German cinema but of Germany itself. For best feature film, the jury has decided to award the certain to be iconic  Futur Drei (No Hard Feelings) directed by Faraz Shariat and the Jünglinge Collective.

Jury Statement for Jury Award Teddy
For its radical aesthetics, representative of a remarkable artistic journey and cinematic maturity; for constructing an experience in which the spectators have the freedom to dive inside themselves through the characters' universes; and for its resistant stance against the threats faced by cinema today; the Teddy jury awards the Special Jury Prize to  Rizi (Days) directed by Tsai Ming-Liang.

Jury statement for Best Documentary Film Teddy.
This year’s award for best documentary/essay film created an extraordinary artwork from an already outstanding piece. It invites audiences to transcend space and time, imagine themselves into new identities and fantasies, and into queer utopian dreams. For its achievement in pushing the boundaries of the documentary film genre, demonstrated in its ambiguous movement through fiction and non-fiction in its investigations of performance practices, the Teddy jury has chosen to award Si c’était de l’amour (If it Were Love) directed by Patric Chiha

Jury Statement for Best Short Film Teddy
For its generous offering to a generation that were not allowed the opportunity to have a happy ending, and for its craftiness in taking us back to a time and a place of joy and resistance, the Teddy jury awards the Best Short Film prize to Playback. Ensayo de una Despedida directed by Agustina Comedi.

Jury Statement for Teddy Readers' Award
Futur Drei is a young, fresh and political movie. One that could not be more up to date. It deals with refugees, migration, identity, arrival in a new home, doubts, and conflicts between the generations in an utterly authentic way. At no point it behaves too morally. A story of high relevance for society that profits from the director's and his surrounding's experiences, which is why it feels kind of semi-autobiographic. Futur Drei proofs to create elaborate characters without any clichés, and finds beautifully arranged images. The first feature film for most of the crew and cast, and it makes us hope for a bright future. A movie like an exclamation mark: This is how movies are done today!

Winners are in *BLUE.  To check info about each movie and the awards go to official site here

The 2020 Berlinale program has NOT been published in full, will happen on February 11th, but Teddy Awards organizers already published the first overview of films that will compete for this award in this edition.  Post will be updated if applicable after February 11.

The 34th Teddy Award takes place within the framework of the Berlin International Film Festival from February 20 to March 1 and is awarded in the categories Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Film, Best Short Film, Jury Award and the TEDDY Readers Award.

As we know, Berlinale will honor Ulrike Ottinger with the 2020 Berlinale Camera, she was awarded the 2012 Special Teddy Award and is one of the world most renowned filmmaker of outstanding lesbian interest movies.

On February 28th is the awards ceremony and the after show Teddy Party, both will be at the Volksbühne Berlin. Annie Heger is the host of the Teddy Award ceremony.

These are the films in the preview

Feature Film
Alice Júnior, Gil Baroni, Brazil (T)
Berlin Alexanderplatz, Burhan Qurbani, Germany and Netherlands
Charlatan, Agnieszka Holland, Czech Republic, Ireland, Poland and Slovakia (G)
Die letzte Stadt (The Last City), Heinz Emigholz, Germany
Futur Drei (No Hard Feelings), Faraz Shariat, Germany (G) Winner of Best Feature Film and Reader's Award.
Kød & Blod (Wildland), Jeanette Nordahl, Denmark
Kokon (Cocoon), Leonie Krippendorff, Germany (L)
Las Mil y Una (One in a Thousand), Clarisa Navas, Argentina and Germany (L)
Meu nome é Bagdá (My name is Baghdad), Caru Alves de Souza, Brazil (L)
Minyan, Eric Steel, USA (G)
日子 Rizi (Days), Tsai Ming-Liang, Taiwan (G) Winner of Jury Award
Schweterlein (My Little Sister), Stéphanie Chuat and Veronique Reymond, Switzerland
Shirley, Josephine Decker, USA
叔 叔 Suk Suk, Ray Yeung, Hong Kong and China (G)
The Twentieth Century, Matthew Rankin, Canada
Vento Seco (Dry Wind), Daniel Nolasco, Brazil (G)

Always Amber, Lia Hietala and Hannah Reinikainen, Sweden
Automotive, Jonas Heldt, Germany
Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets,  Bill Ross IV and Turner Ross, USA
La casa dell'amore (The House of Love), Luca Ferri, Italy (T)
Petite fille (Little Girl), Sébastien Lifshitz, France
Si c’était de l’amour (If It Were Love), Patic Chiha, France Winner of Best Documentary
Vil, má (Divinely Evil), Gustavo Vinagre, Brazil
Welcome to Chechnya, David France, USA Winner of Activist Award

Short Films
Babylebbe (Babydyke), Tone Ottilie, Denmark, 19'
El Nombre del Hijo (The Name of the Son), Martina Matzkin, Argentina
Extractions, Thirza Cuthand, Canada
HaMa’azin (Listening In), Omer Sterenberg, Israel
Panteres (Panters), Èrika Sánchez, Spain
Playback. Ensayo de una Despedida, Agustina Comedi, Argentina Winner of Best Short Film
Untitle Sequence of Gaps, Vika Kirchenbauer, Germany
Who Can Predict What Will Move You, Livia Huang, USA

Dispatches from Elsewhere, Jason Segel and Wendey Stanzler, USA
Sex, Amalie Næsby Fick, Denmark
Trigonometry, Athina Rachel Tsangari and Stella Corradi, UK

The Jury
Cristian Rodríguez, journalist, film fest programmer, Spain
Sylva Häutle, director and curator film fest, Germany
Nataleah Hunter-Young, film programmer, Canada
Ksenia Ilina, film critic and curator, Russia
Heitor Augusto, freelance programmer and film critic, Brazil
Gao Yitian, film programmer and fest director, China
Chris Belloni, filmmaker, producer and director, Netherlands Readers Jury
Robert Moussa, filmmaker, Germany
Amanda Halbrock, film enthusiast, Germany
Detlef Stoffel, activist, Germany
Joyce Newrzella, filmmaker, Germany
Fabian Schäfer, freelance journalist, Germany

No comments yet