Wednesday, April 15, 2015

9th Gopo Awards Winners

A while back the Romanian Film Promotion Association had the awards ceremony and here are some of the winners; to check winners in all categories go here.

The big winner of the night is Closer to the Moon by Nae Carafil as collected 9 awards including most to the top categories and tech categories.

Winners are in *BLUE.

Today the Romanian Film Promotion Association announced the nominations for the annual event that honors the best Romanian contemporary filmmakers, as well as pays tribute to domestic film industry legends.

There were 81 Romanian films released in cinemas or festivals during 2014 and all were considered for the nominations.

Q.E.D. (Quod Erat Demonstrandum) by Andrei Gruszniczki leads the pack with a record seventeen (17) nominations followed by the international production (Romania, USA, Italy, Poland and France) Closer to the Moon by Nae Caranfil with 12, Poarta Albăcu with 6 and O poveste de dragoste, Lindenfeld with 5.

Best Film
Al doile joc, Corneliu Porumboiu (documentary)
*Closer To The Moon, Nae Carafil
Q.E.D. (The Escape), Andrei Gruzsniczki

Best First Film
America, Venim! (America, Here We Come!), Răzvan Săvescu
*Bucureşti, unde eşti? (Where are You, Bucharest?), Vlad Petri (documentary)
Planşa (It Takes Three to Fence), Andrei Gheorghe
#Selfie (Selfie), Cristina Iacob

Best Director
Corneliu Porumboiu for Al doilea Joc
*Nae Caranfil for Closer To The Moon
Andrei Gruzsniczki for Q.E.D. (The Escape)

Best Actress
Vera Farmiga in Closer To The Moon
Victoria Cociaş in O poveste de dragoste, Lindenfeld
Olimpia Melinte in Planşa
*Ofelia Popii in Q.E.D. (The Escape)
Crina Semciuc in #Selfie

Best Actor
Mark Strong in Closer To The Moon
Harry Lloyd in Closer To The Moon
Serge Riaboukine in Cripta (aka Domnul de la curte)
*Florin Piersic Jr. in Q.E.D. (The Escape)
Sorin Leoveanu in Q. E. D. (The Escape)

Best Screenplay
*Nae Caranfil for Closer To The Moon
Oana Maria Cajal and Nicolae Mărgineanu for Poarta Albă
Andrei Gruzsniczki for Q.E.D. (The Escape)

Best Cinematography
Pătru Păunescu for Ana
*Marius Panduru for Closer to the Moon
George Dăscălescu for O poveste de dragoste, Lindenfeld
Mihai Sărbuşcă for Poarta Albă
Vivi Drăgan Vasile for Q.E.D. (The Escape)

Best Documentary
Al doile joc, Corneliu Porumboiu
În numele primarului, Anca Hirte
Paşaport de Germania (Trading Germans), Răzvan Georgescu
*Toto şi surorile lui (Toto and His Sisters), Alexander Nanau
Un ultim an în 114 minute (A Last Year in 114 Minutes), Daniel Nicolae Djamo

Best European Film
Ida, Pawel Pawlikowski, Poland and Denmark
Nymphomaniac: Volume 1 & 2, Lars von Trier, Denmark, Germany, France, Belgium and UK
*La Grande Bellezza, Paolo Sorrentino, Italy and France
Kraftidioten (In Order of Disappearance), Hans Petter Moland, Norway
Kreuzweg (Stations of the Cross), Dietrich Brüggemann, Germany

To read nominations in all categories go official site here, available only in Romanian but eventually will be in English too.  It has become very clear to me that I have to pay more attention to Romanian cinema as there are some films here that have become must be seen for me, even the English-language Closer To The Moon with Vera Farmiga and Mark Strong seems worth-watching.

The nominations in all categories were determined by a jury consisting of director Cristian Tudor Jurgiu, actor Vlad Ivanov, producer Constantin Popescu, director of photography Marious Iacob, screenwriter Alex Baciu, editor Mircea Ciocâlteiand film critics, Mihai Chirilov, Magda Mihăilescu, Iulia Blaga, Florin Barbu and Ada Maria Ichim.

Now more than 450 active professionals in all areas of the Romanian film industry will vote to select winners. The awards ceremony will take place on March 30 in Bucharest.

No comments yet