2017/2018 Key Dates
Film Critics: Today, December 13, winners from Dallas ForthWorthFCA, ChicagoFCA and Film Comment Magazine. Nominations from HoustonFCS, PhoenixCC. PhoenixFCS.

Saturday, January 26, 2013

2013 Guldbaggen Awards Winners

On January 21st the Swedish Film Institute held the gala ceremony for the 48th Annual Guldbaggen filmpris and Gabriela Pichler's Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die) was the big winner as came with five nominations and won four. Winners are in *BLUE.

The Swedish Film Institute announced today the nominations for the 18 categories that will be honored this year (7 are new) and Mikael Marcimain's Call Girl leads with 11 nominations followed by Jan Troell's Dom över död man (The Last Sentence) with 6 nods and Malik Bendjelloul's Searching for Sugar Man with 5 nominations.

Awarded annually since 1964, the Guldbagge, or Golden Beetle, is the Swedish Film Institute's award for achievements in film from the previous year. The beetle-shaped award was designed by Swedish sculptor Karl Axel Pehrson. Award ceremony will include the Gullspira (for extraordinary contribution in films for children plus the Audience Award and will be on January 21, 8pm, at Cirkus in Stockholm; hope that will be streamed live as they did last year but for those living in Sweden Swedish Television (SVT) will be broadcasting the event live.

The nominations.

Best Film
*Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die) by Gabriela Pichler
Call Girl by Mikael Marcimain
Searching for Sugar Man by Malik Bendjelloul

Best Director
Mikael Marcimain for Call Girl
*Gabriela Pichler for Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die)
Jan Troell for Dom över död man (The Last Sentence)

Best Actress
Pernilla August in Call Girl
*Nermina Lukač in Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die)
Linda Molin in Bitchkram (Bitch Hug)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Léonore Ekstrand in Avalon
Yohanna Idha in Katinkas Kalas (Certain People)
*Ulla Skoog in Dom över död man (The Last Sentence)

Best Actor
*Johannes Brost in Avalon
Bengt C.W. Carlsson in Lycka till och ta hand om varandra (Good Luck. And Take Care of Each Other)
Matias Varela in Snabba cash II (Easy Money II)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
*Peter Carlberg in Avalon
Milan Dragišić in Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die)
Fares Fares in Snabba cash II (Easy Money II)

Best Screenplay
*Malik Bendjelloul for Searching for Sugar Man
Marietta von Hausswolff von Baumgarten for Call Girl
Gabriela Pichler for Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die)

Best Cinematography
*Hoyte van Hoytema for Call Girl
Måns Månsson for Avalon
Jan Troell and Mischa Gavjusjov for Dom över död man (The Last Sentence)

Best Editing
*Andreas Jonsson, Hanna Lejonqvist and Niels Pagh Andersen for Palme
Kristofer Nordin for Call Girl
Malik Bendjelloul for editing Searching for Sugar Man

Best Costume Design
*Cilla Rörby for Call Girl
Katja Watkins for Dom över död man (The Last Sentence)
Jaana Fomin for Mammas pojkar (Metal Brothers)

Best Sound
Jonas Jansson for Snabba cash II (Easy Money II)
*Petter Fladeby and Per Nyström for Call Girl
Malik Bendjelloul and Per Nyström for Searching for Sugar Man

Best Make-up/Hair
Eros Codinas for Call Girl
*Jenny Fred for Snabba cash II (Easy Money II)
Maria Strid Zackrisson for Dom över död man (The Last Sentence)

Best Music
*Benny Andersson for Palme
Malik Bendjelloul and Sixto Rodriguez for Searching for Sugar Man
Johan Söderqvist and Andreas Unge for El Médico: The Cubaton Story

Best Production Design
*Lina Nordqvist for Call Girl
Sandra Lindgren for Bitchkram (Bitch Hug)
Pernilla Olsson for Dom över död man (The Last Sentence)

Best Visual Effects
Tim Morris for Call Girl
Torbjörn Olsson for Hamilton – I nationens intresse (Agent Hamilton - In the Interest of the Nation)
*Andreas Hylander for Isdraken (The Ice Dragon)

Best Foreign Language Film
*Amour, Michael Haneke
Laurence Anyways, Xavier Dolan
Moonrise Kingdom, Wes Anderson

Best Documentary
Palme, Kristina Lindström and Maud Nycander
Pojktanten (She Male Snails), Ester Martin Bergsmark
*Searching for Sugar Man, Malik Bendjelloul

Best Short Film
*Dance Music Now, Johan Jonason
Fotografen (The Photographer), Vanja Sandell Billström
Gläntan (The Clearing), Peter Grönlund

I'm so glad that Searching for Sugar Man is being honored as is the best EVER documentary I have seen up to date and definitively is better than many feature films (non-documentary) I have seen in recent years. The honors include a nomination in Best Documentary but also as Best Film, both are highly well-deserved as well as the other four nominations it got (editing, music, script and sound).

But Malik Bendejelloul debut film has strong competition in the Best Film category from great Jan Troell with his period drama and most of all from also first timer Mikael Marcimain (have done mainly TV movies/series/miniseries) with his fictional recount of a real-life Swedish political scandal known as Bordellhärvan which linked underage prostitution with powerful customers believed to come from the highest levels of society.

If you wish to check info plus watch trailers check the new Guldbaggen website here and to read the official press release go here.

No comments yet