2017/2018 Key Dates
#Oscars2018 Foreign-Language Film: Today, October 6, submission from Syria, Senegal, Mongolia, Honduras, Haiti, Costa Rica, China and Australia.

Friday, October 12, 2012

6th Annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards Nominations

As stated by organizers, an unprecedented total of 264 films were entered in this year's competition and 34 films from 18 Asia Pacific countries/areas were honored with a nomination.

The following are the nominated films.

Best Feature Film
Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time), Jong-bin Yun, Korea
Khers (Bear), Khosro Masoumi, Iran
Орда Orda (The Horde), Andrei Proshkin, Russia
Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Emin Alper, Turkey and Greece
Wu Xia (Dragon), Peter Chan, Hong Kong and China

Best Animated Feature Film
Happy Feet Two, George Miller, Gary Eck and David Peers, Australia and USA
Kokurikozaka Kara (From Up on Poppy Hill), Goro Miyazaki, Japan
Momo e no tegami (A Letter to Momo), Hiroyuki Okiura, Japan
Nijiiro Hotaru (Rainbow Fireflies), Kōnosuke Uda, Japan
Ookamikodomo no Ame to Yuki (Wolf Children), Mamoru Hosoda, Japan

Best Children's Feature film
Australia Sheli (My Australia), Ami Drozd, Poland and Israel
Gattu, Rajan Khosa, India
Kiseki (I Wish), Hirokazu Koreeda, Japan
Launt Bercemin (The Mirror Never Lies), Kamila Andini, Indonesia
Orchim Lerega (Off White Lies), Maya Kening, Israel

Achievement in Directing
Anurag Kashyap for Gangs of Wasseypur, India
Brillante Mendoza for Sinapupunan (Thy Womb), Philippines
Cheng Er for Bian jing feng yun (Lethal Hostage), China
Khosro Masoumi for Khers (Bear), Iran
Reis Çelik for Lal gece (Night of Silence), Turkey

Best Performance by an Actress
Cho Min-soo in Pieta, Kim Ki-duk, Korea
Darya Ekamasova in Жила-была одна баба Zila bila odna baba (Once Upon a Time There Lived a Simple Woman), Andrey Smirnov, Russia
Humaima Malick in Bol, Shoaib Mansoor, Pakistan
Nora Aunor in Sinapupunan (Thy Womb), Brillante Mendoza, Philippines
Vidya Balan in The Dirty Picture, Milan Luthria, India

Best Performance by an Actor
Choi Min-sik in Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time), Jong-bin Yun, Korea
Lior Ashkenazi in Hearat shulayim (Footnote), Joseph Cedar, Israel
Manoj Bajpayee in Gangs of Wasseypur, Anurag Kashyap, India
Tamer Levent in Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Emin Alper, Turkey and Greece
Wu Tianming in Fei Yue Lao Ren Yuan (Full Circle), Zhang Yang China

Achievement in Cinematography
Charin Pengpanich for Bunohan (Bunohan: Return to Murder), Dain Said, Malaysia
Chin Ting-Chang for Seediq Bale (Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale), Te-Sheng Wei, Taiwan
Jake Pollock and Lai Yiu-fai for Wu Xia, Peter Chan, Hong Kong and China
Touraj Aslani for Fasle Kargadan (Rhino Season), Bahman Ghobadi, Iraqi-Kurdistan and Turkey
Yury Raysky for Орда Orda (The Horde), Andrei Proshkin, Russia

Best Screenplay
Cheng Er for Bian jing feng yun (Lethal Hostage), Cheng Er, China
Chris Martinez for Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank), Marlon Rivera, Philippines
Emin Alper for Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Emin Alper, Turkey and Greece
Reis Çelik for Lal gece (Night of Silence), Reis Çelik, Turkey
Shoaib Mansoor for Bol, Shoaib Mansoor, Pakistan

Best Documentary Feature Film
Hamesh Matzlemot Shvurot (Five Broken Cameras), Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi, Israel, Palestine and France
In My Mother's Arms, Atea Al Daradji and Mohamed Al Daradji, Iraq, UK and Netherlands
Negeri di Bawah Kabut (The Land Beneath the Fog), Shalahuddin Siregar, Indonesia and Germany
Planet of Snail, Yi Seung-jun, Korea, Japan and Finland
Shiton Hachok (The Law in These Parts), Ra'anan Alexandrowicz, Israel, USA and Germany

My first impression from those films I was not aware is that the one that really called my attention is the story of a female convict on death row with her last wish to tell her story to the media in Shoaib Mansoor's Bol. Also because of trailer and photos know that epic Andrei Proshkin's Orda (photo) has some breathtaking visuals.

A six-member International Jury headed by acclaimed Australian producer Jan Chapman will determine the winner of Best Feature Film as well as winners of the five major craft awards, the Screen International Jury Grand Prize and the UNESCO Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film. APSA Academy members will determine the winners in the Best Children’s, Documentary and Animated Feature Film categories.

All winners in the sixth annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards will be announced at a ceremony on Friday November 23 in Brisbane, Australia.

No comments yet