Tuesday, January 18, 2011

22nd Palm Springs International Film Festival Award Winners

Yesterday the fest closed with screenings of the best films in the festival and the day before announced the award winners. These are the awards and the winners.

New Voices/New Visions Award: Smukke Mennesker (Nothing’s All Bad), Mikkel Much-Fals, Denmark
Special Mentions
Sound of Noise, Ola Simonsson, Johannes Stjärne Nilsson, Sweden and France
40, Emre Sahin, Turkey and USA

Bridging the Borders Award: También la lluvia (Even the Rain), Icíar Bollaín, Spain, France and Mexico

FIPRESCI Award for Best Foreign Language of the Year: Des Hommes et des Dieux (Of Gods and Men), Xavier Beauvois, France. The jury selected the film, “for its incisive, restrained, and deeply moving depiction of religious faith tested by political strife.”

FIPRESCI Award for Best Actress: Anne Coesens in Illégal (Illegal), Olivier Masset-Depasse, Belgium, Luxembourg and France
FIPRESCI Award for Best Actor: Lars Rosing in Nuummioq, Otto Rosing and Torben Bech, Greenland

The John Schlesinger Award for Outstanding First Documentary: Summer Pasture, Lynn True, Nelson Walker III and Tsering Perlo, China and USA

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature: The Whistleblower, Larysa Kondracki, USA and Canada (What a cast! Check trailer @MOC) The runner-up narrative films in alphabetical order include Aftershock (China), Goethe (Germany), The Hedgehog (France), Paper Birds (Spain) and Simple Simon (Sweden).

Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature: Louder Than a Bomb, Greg Jacobs and Jon Siskel, USA.  The runner-up documentary films in alphabetical order include Bill Cunningham New York (USA), Jane’s Journey (Germany), A Not So Still Life (USA), Waste Land (Brazil) and Wild Horse, Wild Ride (USA).

To check announcement at official site go here.

No comments yet