Saturday, December 04, 2010

23rd European Film Awards Winners

I’m really enjoying the opportunity to watch live the awards ceremonies and EFA’s ceremony best word to describe how it was is “elegant”. Watching clips from films always will be the best part but watching actresses like Juliette Binoche and Alba Rohrwacher is always a big plus. If you followed my tweets you know by now that big winner is The Ghost Writer which I didn’t enjoyed much as to me felt and looked too American to be an European film, but seems that Academy members like the style as much as Americans do.

These are the winners.

Best European Film: The Ghost Writer, Roman Polanski, France, Germany and UK
European Director: Roman Polanski for The Ghost Writer
European Actress: Sylvie Testud in Lourdes
European Actor: Ewan McGregor in The Ghost Writer

European Cinematogapher: Giora Bejach for Lebanon
European Screenwriter: Robert Harris and Roman Polanski for The Ghost Writer
European Composer: Alexandre Desplat for The Ghost Writer
European Editor: Luc Barnier and Marion Monnier for Carlos
European Production Designer: Albrecht Konrad for The Ghost Writer

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI: Lebanon, Samuel Maoz, Israel, Germany and UK

European Film Academy Documentary – Prix Arte: Nostalgia de la Luz (Nostalgia for the Light), Patricio Guzmán, France, Germany and Chile

European Film Academy Animated Feature Film: The Illusionist, Sylvain Chomet, UK and France

European Film Academy Short Film: Hanoi-Warszawa (Hanoi-Warsaw), Katarzyna Klimkiewicz, Poland

European Co-Production Award – Prix Eurimages: Zyenep Ozbatur Atakan
European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award: Bruno Ganz
European Achievement in World Cinema: Gabriel Yared

People’s Choice Award for Best European Film: Mr. Nobody, Jaco Van Dormael, Belgium

To check winners and read about each film at awards site go here.  So this is it for this year and hope next year top awards will be given to more interesting and European films. Sigh. Next year awards will be held in Malta.

No comments yet