Sunday, December 13, 2009

22nd European Films Award Winners

A few hours ago the Academy had the awards ceremony and here are the winners.

Best Film: Das Weisse Band (The White Ribbon), Michael Haneke, Germany, Austria, France and Italy (Bravo!)

Best Director: Michael Haneke for Das Weisse Band (The White Ribbon)
Best Actress: Kate Winslet in The Reader
Best Actor: Tahar Rahim in Un Prophete (A Prophet)
Best Screenwriter: Michael Haneke for Das Weisse Band (The White Ribbon)
Carlo Di Palma European Cinematographer: Anthony Dod Mantle for Antichrist and Slumdog Millionaire
EFA Prix D’Excellence: Brigitte Taillandier, Francis Wargnier, Jean-Paul Hurier & Marc Doisne for the Sound Design, Un Prophet (A Prophet)
European Discovery: Katalin Varga, Peter Strickland, Romania, UK and Hungary

FIPRESCI Prix: Tatarak (Sweet Rush), Andrzej Wajda, Poland
People’s Choice Award for Best European Film: Slumdog Millionaire

To check the winners in all categories please go here. Great films were honored today and for me both are excellent movies, Cheers! for Haneke and Audiard.

No comments yet