Tuesday, December 01, 2009

19th Gotham Independent Film Awards Winners

Last night they presented the awards and here they are in *RED.

--end of update--

Today at 1pm EST the nominations will be released and with this announcement the official award season opens!

I know that I opened the award season with the compilation of countries submissions to the foreign language and I’m happy to have done it as the best films in the WORLD are submitted. But it is not until today that the awards seasons opens and will last until next spring.

According to the press release these are the nominations. To read the official announcement go here.

Best Feature
Amreeka, Cherien Dabis
Big Fan, Robert Siegel
*The Hurt Locker, Kathryn Bigelow
La Nana (The Maid), Sebastian Silva (Congrats to Chile for the honor)
A Serious Man, Joel and Ethan Coen

Breakthrough Director
Cruz Angeles for Don’t Let Me Drown
Frazer Bradshaw for Everything Strange and New
Noah Buschel for The Missing Person
Derick Martini for Lymelife
*Robert Siegel for Big Fan

Best Ensemble Performance
Adventureland, Jesse Eisenberg, Kristen Stewart, Martin Starr, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Ryan Reynolds
Cold Souls, Paul Giamatti, Dina Korzun, Emily Watson, Katheryn Winnick, David Strathairn
*The Hurt Locker, Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Ralph Fiennes, Guy Pearce, David Morse, Evangeline Lilly
A Serious Man, Michael Stuhlbarg, Richard Kind, Fred Melamed
Sugar, Algenis Perez Soto, Rayniel Rufino, Michael Gaston, Andre Holland, Ann Whitney, Richard Bull, Ellary Porterfield, Jaime Tirelli

Breakthrough Actor
Ben Foster in The Messenger
Patton Oswalt in Big Fan
Jeremy Renner in The Hurt Locker
*Catalina Saavedra in La Nana (The Maid)
Soulémane Sy Savané in Goodbye Solo

And the BEST CATEGORY of all

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You
Everything Strange and New, Frazer Bradshaw
Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench, Damien Chazelle
October Country, Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher
*You Won’t Miss Me, Ry Russo-Young
Zero Bridge, Tariq Tapa

Best Documentary
*Food, Inc., Robert Kenner
Good Hair, Jeff Stilson,
My Neighbor My Killer, Anne Aghion
Paradise, Michael Almereyda
Tyson, James Toback

The Awards ceremony will take place on November 30th in New York City at Cipriani Wall Street.

No comments yet