Sunday, May 24, 2009

62nd Festival de Cannes Award Winners

The fest of all fests is over and well, me too, I’m sad. But I had a great time this year. Here are the winners.

Palme d’Or: Das weiße Band (The White Ribbon), Michael Haneke, Austria, Italy, France and Germany, 2009

Grand Prix: Un Prophète (A Prophet), Jacques Audiard, France, 2009

Jury Prize (tie)
Fish Tank, Andrea Arnold, UK, 2009
Bakjwi (Thrist), Chan-wook Park, South Korea, 2009

Best Director: Brillante Mendoza for Kinatay (The Execution of P), Philippines and France, 2009

Best Screenplay: Lou Ye for Chun Feng Chen Zui De Ye Wan (Spring Fever), Lou Ye, Hong Kong and France, 2009

Best Actress: Charlotte Gainsbourg in Antichrist, Lars von Trier, Denmark, Germany, France, Sweden, and Italy, 2009

Best Actor: Christoph Waltz in Inglorious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino, USA and Germany, 2009

Lifetime Achievement Award: Alain Resnais

Camera D’Or: Samson & Delilah, Warwick Thornton, Australia, 2009 (Un Certaine Regard)
Special Mention: Ajami, Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani, Israel (Quinzaine)

Short Films
Palme d’Or
: Arena, João Salaviza, Portugal, 2009 – 15.52 minutes
Special Mention: The Six Dollar Fifty Man, Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston, New Zealand, 2009, 15 minutes

C’est fini … à l’année prochaine!!!

No comments yet