Monday, October 20, 2008

24th Warsaw Film Festival Award Winners

I have been following this fest before it started on October 10th, but didn’t posted films in competition as it was difficult to understand what films where in participating. But recently they announced the award winners and here they are.

Warsaw Competition

Grand Prize: Yuriev Den (Yuri’s Day), Kirill Serebrennikov, Russia and Germany
Jury Special Prize: Svetate Golyam I Spasenie Debne Otvsyakde (The World is Big and Salvation Lurks Around the Corner), Stefan Komandarev, Bulgaria, Germany, Slovenia and Hungary

1-2 Competition
Grand Prize: Ma Salama Jamil (Go In Peace Jamil), Omar Shargawi, Denmark
Jury Special Prize: Ravayat Haye Na Taman (Unfinished Stories), Pourya Azarbayjani, Iran
Special Mention: Muzika (Music), Juraj Nvota, Slovakia and Germany

Free Spirit Competition
Free Spirit Award: Carlston Za Ognjenku (Tears for Sale), Uros Stojanovic, Serbia and France
Jury Special Prize: Tony Manero, Pablo Larrain, Chile and Brazil

FIPRESCI Prize: A Nyomozo (The Investigator), Attila Gigor, Hungary

Audience Award: Waltz with Bashir, Ari Folman, Israel, Germany and France

To check all the awards winners go here.

No comments yet