Saturday, May 24, 2008

47th International Critics’ Week – Award Winners

I have to say that I’m sad that Cannes is about to come to an end, as I will miss all my activities around this Mother of all festivals. The first parallel section yesterday reached the finish line and announced the award winners and here they are.

Feature Films Awards

Critics’ Week Grand Prix: Snijeg (Snow), Aida Begic, Bosnia-Herzegovine, Germany, France and Iran.

SACD Award for Best Screenwriter: Jean-Claude Van Rijckeghem and Pat Van Beirs for Aanrijding in Moscou (Moscow, Belgium), Christophe Van Ropaey, Belgium

ACID/CCAS Support Award: Aanrijding in Moscou (Moscow, Belgium), Christophe Van Ropaey, Belgium

OFAJ/TV5MONDE Young Critic Award: La Sangre Brota (Blood Appears), Pablo Fendrik, Argentina, France and Germany

Prix Regards Jeunes: Vse Umrut A Ja Ostanus (Everybody Dies But Me), Valeria Gaï Guermanika, Russia (A Must Be Seen!)

The Center of Film Writings Residence Award supports the directors discovered at Critics’ Week for the writing of their next film by offering two residencies. The winners will be announced in June.

Short Films Awards

Grand Prix Best Short Film: Next Floor, Denis Villeneuve, Canada
Kodak Discovery Award for Best Short Film: Skhizien, Jérémy Clapin, France

Still have to check the winners of the Grand Rail d’Or for best feature film and the Petit Rail d’Or for best short film, as are not announced yet at their site.

To check photos and more info go here. The short films presented in competition will be available on Vodmania for three weeks, so I suggest you check them fast here.

Enjoy the shorts!

No comments yet