Sunday, May 25, 2008

2008 Cannes Awards Winners

 Tonight at the closing ceremony they gave the In Competition Awards and as posted in the official festival site these are the winners.

Palme d’Or: Entre Les Murs (The Class), Laurent Cantet, France

Grand Prize: Gomorra (Gomorrah), Mateo Garronne, Italy
Jury Prize: Il Divo, Italy and France
Best Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan for ÜÇ Maymun (Three Monkeys), Turkey, France and Italy
Best Actress: Sandra Corveloni for Linha de Passe (Line of Passage), Daniela Thomas and Walter Salles, Brazil
Best Actor: Benicio del Toro for Che, Steven Soderbergh, Spain, USA and France
Best Screenplay: Jean Pierre et Luc Dardenne for Le Silence de Lorna (The Silence of Lorna), Belgium, Italy and France

61st Festival de Cannes Award goes to Catherine Deneuve and Clint Eastwood. President Sean Penn and the jurors awarded a Special Award of this 61st Festival de Cannes to the French actress Catherine Deneuve and director/actor Clint Eastwood for their careers.

For those interested in viewing the closing ceremony it will be posted soon here. Right now they only have videos for the red carpet arrival and when Sean Penn announces the Palme d’Or.

So, this is it until next year. There are many interesting films in this edition that I hope to be able to see them during this year and the beginning of next.

A Bientôt!!!

No comments yet