2019/2020 Key Dates
Film Critics Update: Today, January 14 - Winners from Denver FCS.

Saturday, May 25, 2019

2019 L’Œil d’Or Winners

In an unexpected finale the jury decided two top winners for this award that is too young to be giving ex-æquo awards.

"The two films we have rewarded deal with love, exile, resistance and the you of disobeying together"  declared the jury.

First L’Œil goes to a very strong and courageous debut film by a young woman.  A shock, terrifying violence of the images.  The story of a great love between a man and a woman, an open love letter to their child, the everyday life of a young heroic surgeon and his team in the hell of Syrian war.  For Sama by Waad Al Kateab.

The second goes to a filmmaker who has been in exile for almost 50 years.  He has restlessly celebrated, through his body of work, the passionate momentum of Chilians in pursuit of liberty and social Justice. La Cordillera de los Sueños by Patricio Guzmán.

Winners are in *BLUE.  To check winners go official site here; but, wait a few days until they update.

2019 L’Œil d’Or Selection

Cinema has its roots in documentary film. This unique depiction of the world is becoming increasingly popular on the big screen and among the public. It is garnering more critical recognition and becoming more visible at festivals. As such, it deserves to be acknowledged at Cannes.

The ‘L'Œil d’Or’ Documentary Award was created in 2015 by LaScam (The French civil society for multimedia authors), in collaboration with the Cannes Festival and its General Delegate Thierry Frémaux, with the support of the INA (the French national audiovisual Institute) and Audiens.

It will be awarded to a documentary screened in one of the Cannes Festival categories (Official Selection, Competition, Un Certain Regard, Hors compétition & Séances de Minuit, Séances Spéciales, Short Films, Cannes Classics, Directors’ Fortnight, Semaine de la Critique.)

The L'Œil d’Or and a €5,000 prize will be presented to the creators of the winning film on Saturday, May 19 at 11:00am at Palais des festivals.

Eighteen (18) documentaries in competition for L’Œil d’or award

Out of Competition
Diego Maradona, Asif Kapadia, UK

Special Screenings
5B, Dan Krauss, USA
Être vivant et le savoir (Living and Knowing You Are Alive),  Alain Cavalier, France
*For Sama, Waad Al Kateab, UK
*La Cordillera de los Sueños (The Cordillera of Dreams), Patricio Guzmán, Chile and France
Ice on Fire, Leila Conners, UK, Costa Rica, Croatia, France, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and USA
Que Sea Ley, Juan Solanas, Argentina

Cannes Classics
Cinecittà - I mestieri del cinema Bernardo Bertolucci: no end travelling, Mario Sesti, Italy
Forman vs. Forman, Helena Třeštíková and Jakub Hejna, Czech Republic and France
La Passione di Anna Magnani (La Passion de Anna Magnani), Enrico Cerasuolo, Italy and France
Les Silences de Johnny, Pierre-William Glenn, France
Making Waves: The Art of Cinematic Sound, Midge Costin, USA

Cinéma de la plage
Haut les filles, François Armanet , France

Short Films
Le Grand Saut (The Jump), Vanessa Dumont and Nicolas Davenel, France, 12'

Quinzaine des réalisateurs
On va tout péter (Blow It to Bits), Lech Kowalski, France

Semaine de la Critique
Demonic, Pia Borg, Australia, 28'
Invisível Herói (Invisible Hero), Cristèle Alves Meira, Portugal and France, 28'
Tenzo, Katsuya Tomita, Japan, 59'

President: Yolande Zauberman, director
Romane Bohringer, actress and director
Eric Caravaca, actor and director
Ivan Giroud, festival director
Ross McElwee, director

To check list at official site go here.

No comments yet