Saturday, February 16, 2019

33rd Teddy Awards Winners

At post bottom there is a video with the awards ceremony in full if you wish to see the show -more than the awards (lol)-.

Top feature and documentary winners come from Latin American filmmakers, which makes it a great night for LGBT cinema of a region lately bringing outstanding films with queer relevant themes.  Congrats Latin American filmmakers and keep them coming.  Thanks.

Winners are below in *BLUE.  To check films that got a "nominated" mention go to post with all festival winners here.

As Berlinale program has been published in full, here are the films that will compete this year for the most famous LGBT film award.

But first let's share that the Special Teddy Award goes to Falk Rickter and most interesting, for the first time the online magazine is going to be media partner of the Teddy Award and there is a diverse jury of five people to select the winner of the Teddy Readers' Award 2019.

This year there is a nice poster with artwork created by Mrs. Marion Habringer and as always let's remind all what this award is all about.

The Teddy Award is a societal engaged political award, which is given to films and people, that communicate queer themes and content on a large scale and contribute with this to more tolerance, acceptance, solidarity and equality in society.

The Teddy Award has with this not only cultural importance. As long as homosexuality is threatened in parts of the world with the capital punishment and is even in towns like Berlin a homophobe power in the agenda, Teddy Award also carries a political significance and responsibility.

Within the scope of the International Film Festival the Teddy will award the queer film Award’s, in the categories the best feature, the best documentaries/essay film and the best short film, as well as the Special Teddy for artistic life’s work given to an outstanding personality. Movies from all sections of the International Film Festival Berlin – most of them world premieres – compete every year for the Teddy Award.

The award ceremony will be on Friday, February 15 at the Volksbühne Berlin and afterwards the infamous party will take place with dance floor and DJ-Lounge.

The Selection

Feature Films
Der Boden unter den Füßen (The Ground beneath My Feet), Marie Kreutzer, Austria
Elisa y Marcela (Elisa & Marcela), Isabel Coixet, Spain
Synonymes (Synonyms), Nadav Lapid, France, Israel and Germany 

*A Dog Barking at the Moon, Xiang Zi, China and Spain  Winner of Special Jury Award
*Breve Historia del Planeta Verde (Brief Story from the Green Planet), Santiago Loza, Argentina, Germany, Brazil and Spain Winner of Best Feature Film and Readers' Prize
Greta, Armando Praça, Brazil
Kislota (Acid), Alexander Gorchilin, Russia
La Fiera y la Fiesta (Holy Beasts), Laura Amelia Guzmán and Israel Cárdenas, Dominican Republic, Argentina and Mexico
Los Miembros de la Familia (Family Members), Mateo Bendesky, Argentina
Monos, Alejandro Landes, Colombia, Argentina, Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Uruguay and USA
Temblores (Tremors), Jayro Bustamante, Guatemala, France and Luxembourg
To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea), Syllas Tzoumerkas, Greece, Germany, Netherlands and Sweden

Demons, Daniel Hui, Singapore
Monștri. (Monsters.), Marius Olteanu, Romania 
Mother, I Am Suffocating. This Is My Last Film About You.,  Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, Lesotho
Serpentário (Serpentarius), Carlos Conceição, Angola and Portugal
So Pretty, Jessie Jeffrey Dunn Rovinelli, USA and France

Generation 14plus
Beol-sae (House of Hummingbird), Bora Kim, Korea
Bulbul Can Sing, Rima Das, India

Perspektive Deutsches Kino
easy love, Tamer Jandali, Germany
Heute oder morgen (Before We Grow Old), Thomas Moritz Helm, Germany

Panorama Dokumente
*Lemebel, Joanna Reposi Garibaldi, Chile and Colombia Winner of Best Documentary Award
Normal, Adele Tulli, Italy and Sweden
Schönheit & Vergänglichkeit (Beauty and Decay), Annekatrin Hendel, Germany
Searching Eva, Pia Hellenthal, Germany

A rosa azul de Novalis (The Blue Flower of Novalis), Gustavo Vinagre and Rodrigo Carneiro, Brazil
Ne croyez surtout pas que je hurle (Just Don't Think I'll Scream), Frank Beauvais, France 

Forum Expanded
False Belief, Lene Berg, Norway

Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Die Grube (The Pit), Hristiana Raykova

Short Films
Berlinale Shorts
Blue Boy, Manuel Abramovich, Argentina and Germany, 19’
*Entropia, Flóra Anna Buda, Hungary, 10’ Winner of Best Short Film Award
Héctor, Victoria Giesen Carvajal, Chile, 19’
Lidérc úr (Mr. Mare), Luca Tóth, Hungary, France, 19’

Forum Expanded
Parsi, Eduardo Williams and Mariano Blatt, Argentina and Switzerland, 23'
Vivir en junio con la lengua afuera (To Live in June with Your Tongue Hanging Out), Coco Fusco, USA and Cuba, 24'

Generation 14plus
Four Quartets, Marco Alessi, UK, 11'
Yulia & Juliet, Zara Dwinger, Netherlands, 12'

There are some older films with LGBT interest in the Panorama 40 section which are listed with synopsis here and in the Retro section here. To read info about each film go official site here.

The Jury
Sandra Hezinová, festival programmer, Czech Republic
Paul Struthers, Frameline programmer, USA
María Paula Lorgia, programmer, Colombia
Kevin Mwachiro, writer, journalist, gay activist, Kenya
Jay Bernard, programer, UK
Popo Fan, filmmaker and writer, China
Andrea Kuhn, director film festival, Germany Readers' Jury
Amanda Halbrock
Oliver Maus
Katayun Pirdawari
Gerlinde Kenkel
Fabian Schäfer

Jury members info at official site here.

Awards Ceremony in Full. Red carpet until 28:29 when actual ceremony starts

No comments yet