Thursday, February 22, 2018

20th Costume Designers Guild Awards Winners

On February 20th winners were announced in the platinum anniversary gala hosted by Gina Rodriguez which celebrated special honorees Guillermo del Toro, Joanna Johnston, Maggie Schpak and Kerry Washington as well as the winners of the seven competitive award categories.

Additionally John Mollo was posthumously inducted into the Guild's Hall of Fame by Mark Hamill, who paid tribute to the iconic designer known for his work on the first two installments of the Star Wars films, among others.

Maggie Schpak, expert jeweler/metalworker, received the Distinguished Service Award from the CDG President, Salvador Perez. The award honors individuals whose specialties and talents contribute to the craft and art of Costume Design.

Guillermo del Toro was awarded the Distinguished Collaborator Award which honors individuals who demonstrate unwavering support of Costume Design and creative partnerships with Costume Designers. Actor Doug Jones and Oscar-nominated Costume Designer Luis Sequeira, both from del Toro’s 13-time Oscar-nominated film The Shape of Water, presented del Toro with the award.

Kerry Washington was presented with the Spotlight Award, which honors an actor whose talent and career personify an enduring commitment to excellence, including a special awareness of the role and importance of Costume Design. Eva Longoria, and Scandal Costume Designer, Lyn Paolo, made the special presentation to Washington.

Joanna Johnston was honored with the Career Achievement Award recognizing her extraordinary body of work and lasting impact on filmmaking. Producer, Kathleen Kennedy presented Johnston with her award, with a surprise appearance by Sally Field, who worked with Johnston on Forrest Gump and Lincoln.

To the surprise of many, favorite Oscar category winner did NOT got a guild honor and yes, this time I have to agree that Phantom Thread has spectacular costume designer work, while the other films in the Period Film category pale when comparison.  Strongly believe that even Murder on the Orient Express has better costume design than winner.  Sigh.  Imagine Academy voters will not behave the same as guild voters.

If one winner deserves costume design recognition for magnificent work in film's very different scenarios is Wonder Woman, congrats. 

Winners are in  *BLUE.  To check winners in all categories go official site here.

Recently the CDG announced their nominees for the annual awards which celebrate excellence in film, television, and short-form Costume Design.

I would like to congratulate all of the nominees of the 2018 Costume Designers Guild Awards. As we commemorate the 20th year of the CDGA, we are so proud of the legacy Costume Designers have created for the Film and Television industry. We look forward to celebrating the art of Costume Design and our honorees at our awards gala on February 20, 2018,” said Salvador Perez, President of the Costume Designers Guild Local #892.

The Career Achievement Award will be presented to Joanna Johnston; the Distinguished Collaborator Award goes to Guillermo del Toro and the Distinguished Service Awards goes to Maggie Schpak.

These are the nominees

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Nadine Haders for Get Out
*Jennifer Johnson for I, Tonya
Arianne Phillips for Kingsman: The Golden Circle
April Napier for Lady Bird
Melissa Toth for Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Excellence in Period Film
Jeffrey Kurland for Dunkirk
Ellen Mirojnick for The Greatest Showman
Alexandra Byrne for Murder on the Orient Express
Mark Bridges for Phantom Thread
*Luis Sequeira for The Shape of Water

Excellence in Sci-fi/Fantasy Film
Jaqueline Durran for Beauty and the Beast
Renee April for Blade Runner 2049
Michael Kaplan for Star Wars: The Last Jedi
Mayes C. Rubeo for Thor: Ragnarok
*Lindy Hemming for Wonder Woman

To check nominees in all categories go official site here.  This year's platinum anniversary awards gala will take place on Tuesday, February 20 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Ceremony will be hosted by Gina Rodriguez.

No comments yet