Sunday, February 12, 2017

21st Annual Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Award Winners

The Art Directors Guild announced last night the winners of its Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards in 11 categories of film, television, commercials and music videos during a ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

Hidden Figures, Passengers and La La Land won in feature films to narrow their chances at Oscars as during the past five years, the ADG period film category winner went to win the Oscar three times, once it went to the winner in the fantasy category and once Oscar went to a ADG non-winner. When we consider the past, Hidden Figures seems to have the best odds; but also Passengers chances increased a bit and well, seems that La La Land has too-strong competitors.

To check winners in all categories go official site here. Winners are in *BLUE.
A few minutes ago the Art Directors Guild announced the nominations for the current edition that becomes quite unusual as out of the 11 categories there are two (2) that had ties and consequently have six (6) nominees, one category belongs to feature films and the other to television.  

The 21st Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards celebrating “Return to Hollywood” will take place on Saturday, February 11, 2017, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

As we know the guild recognizes work in three (3) motion picture categories: period, fantasy and contemporary film.

Period Film (tie)
Santo Loquasto for Café Society
David Gropman for Fences
Barry Robison for Hacksaw Ridge
Jess Gonchor for Hail, Caesar!
*Wynn Thomas for Hidden Figures
Jean Rabasse for Jackie

Fantasy Film
Patrice Vermette for Arrival
Charles Wood for Doctor Strange
Stuart Craig for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
*Guy Hendrix Dyas for Passengers
Doug Chiang and Neil Lamont for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Contemporary Film
Tom Duffield for Hell or High Water
*David Wasco for La La Land
Chris Kennedy for Lion
Ruth de Jong for Manchester by the Sea
Shane Valentino for Nocturnal Animals

To check the press release go official site here; to check nominees in all categories go here and/or here, last link has info to be considered for production design for some of the nominees, includes video and design presentation, suggest to check them.

As previously announced, Gene Allen, Oscar-winning Production Designer behind My Fair Lady, A Star is Born and Les Girls, will be inducted into the Art Directors Guild (ADG) Hall of Fame. ADG will also present four Lifetime Achievement Awards to Production Designer René Lagler, Scenic Artist Albert Obregon, Emmy-nominated Set Designer Cate Bangs and Senior Illustrator Joseph Musso.

No comments yet