Tuesday, November 29, 2016

21st Annual International Press Academy Satellite Awards Nominations

The International Press Academy (IPA) announces its nominations for the 21st Annual Satellite Awards and for the first time the IPA is awarding a separate independent film and major studio film as Best Picture. Each year, the IPA celebrates nominees from domestic and international submissions for 37 categories: 19 in Motion Pictures, 12 in Television, 2 in Blu-ray DVDs and 4 in Video Games.
Film critics and entertainment writers from throughout the world are members of the IPA, and its decisions are derived from domestic and international film festivals, guild screenings and press screenings.

This year’s nominees include diverse films such as Fences, La La Land, Moonlight, Manchester by the Sea and Hell and High Water. On the TV side, major nominees include The People v. O.J. Simpson and Game of Thrones.

The special achievement awards include; The Mary Pickford Award for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to the Entertainment Industry goes this year to Edward James Olmos, The Nikola Tesla Award for visionary achievements in filmmaking technology goes to John Toll, The Auteur Award for creative vision and unique artistry made on audiences and fellow artists alike goes to Tom Ford and the Humanitarian Award will be presented to actor/activist Sir Patrick Stewart. The Best First Feature Award goes to Russudan Glurjidze for House of Others.

The Best Ensemble for Motion Pictures goes to Hidden Figures and the Best Ensemble for Television goes to Outlander.

The following are the Special Achievement Award Recipients
Mary Pickford Award: Edward James Olmos
Tesla Award: John Toll
Auteur Award: Tom Ford
Humanitarian Award: Patrick Stewart
Best First Feature: Russudan Glurjidze for House of Others
Best Ensemble Motion Picture: Hidden Figures
Best Ensemble Television: Outlander

Unfortunately the award continues to have too-many nominees per category which does not speak well about the group nor the awards, they should change rules to have fewer nominees in every category except perhaps Motion Picture. Nevertheless here are the nominees for a few categories.

Motion Pictures Categories

Motion Picture
Captain Fantastic
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea
Nocturnal Animals

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
Mis Hokusai
My Life As a Zucchini
The Jungle Book
The Red Turtle
Your Name

Motion Picture, Documentary
Fire at Sea
Life Animated
O.J.: Made in America
The Beatles: Eight Days a Week
The Eagle Huntress
The Ivory Game
Zero Days

Motion Picture, International Film
A Man Called Ove, Sweden
Elle, France
Julieta, Spain
Ma' Rosa, Philippines
Paradise, Russia
The Ardennes, Belgium
The Handmaiden, South Korea
The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki, Finland
The Salesman, Iran
Toni Erdmann, Germany

Damien Chazelle for La La Land
Tom Ford for Nocturnal Animals
Mel Gibson for Hacksaw Ridge
Barry Jenkins for Moonlight
Pablo Larrain for Jackie
Kenneth Lonergan for Manchester by the Sea
Denzel Washington for Fences

Amy Adams in Nocturnal Animals
Annette Bening in 20th Century Woman
Taraji P. Henson in Hidden Figures
Isabelle Huppert in Elle
Ruth Nega in Loving
Natalie Portman in Jackie
Emma Stone in La La Land
Meryl Streep in Florence Foster Jenkins

Actress in a Supporting Role
Viola Davis in Fences
Naomi Harris in Moonlight
Nicole Kidman in Lion
Helen Mirren in Eye in the Sky
Octavia Spencer in Hidden Figures
Michelle Williams in Manchester by the Sea

Casey Affleck in Manchester by the Sea
Joel Edgerton in Loving
Andrew Garfield in Hacksaw Ridge
Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Snowden
Ryan Gosling in La La Land
Tom Hanks in Sully
Viggo Mortensen in Captain Fantastic
Denzel Washington in Fences

Actor in a Supporting Role
Mahershala Ali in Moonlight
Jeff Bridges in Hell or High Water
Hugh Grant in Florence Foster Jenkins
Lucas Hedges in Manchester by the Sea
Eddie Murphy in Mr. Church
Dev Patel in Lion

To check nominees in other Motion Pictures categories as well as in TV categories go to official site here.  The Awards ceremony will be on February 19th, 2917 at InterContinental Hotel, Century City.

No comments yet