Monday, March 14, 2016

2016 Canadian Screen Awards Winners

Yesterday the Canadian Academy had their award ceremony and I wished I had watched the live stream as press claims Jacob Tremblay stole the show -again- and yes, I believe he deserved an Oscar nomination and even the Oscar for Best Actor! Unfortunately Hollywood decided different but then we have the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television fixing Hollywood's omission and (HUGE) mistake, and the cherry on top is that Tremblay won the Best Actor award!

Believe nobody was surprised when Irish and Canadian co production swept the film awards by winning nine (9) prizes, including Best Motion Picture, Best Lead Actress and Actor, Adapted Screenplay and Best Director. The other great film with two honors is none other than Brooklyn. Worth mentioning that both films will face each other again at the Irish Academy annual awards as both are Irish co productions, very curious to see which one will prevail in Ireland.

These are the winners.

Best Motion Picture: Room

Achievement in Direction: Lenny Abrahamson for Room

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Brie Larson in Room
Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Joan Allen in Room
Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Jacob Tremblay in Room
Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Nick Serino in Sleeping Giant

Best Adapted Screenplay: Emma Donoghue for Room
Best Original Screenplay: Benjamin August for Remember

Achievement in Cinematography: Yves Bélanger for Brooklyn
Achievement in Art Direction: Ethan Tobman and Mary Kirkland for Room
Achievement in Costume Design: Joanne Hansen for Beeba Boys
Achievement in Editing: Nathan Nugent for Room
Achievement in Make-Up: Sid Armour and Jennifer Gould for Room
Achievement in Music-Original Score: Michael Brook for Brooklyn
Achievement in Music-Origianl Song: Jenny Salgado and André Courcy for C'est aujourd'hui que je sors from Scratch - A Hip-Opera
Achievement in Visual Effects: Phil Jones, Sarah Wormsbecher, Eric Dorion, Anthony DeChellis, Lon Molnar, Geoff D.E. Scott, Natham Larouche and Mark Fordham for Hyena Road
Achievement in Overall Sound: Lou Solakofski, Ian Rankin, Joe Morrow, Russ Dyck, Graham Rogers, James Bastable, André Azoubel, Don White and Jack Hereen for Hyena Road
Achievement in Sound Editing: Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Martin Gwynn Jones, David Evans, Dave Rose, Brennan Mercer, Ed Douglas, Kevin Banks, Goro Koyama and Andy Malcom for Hyena Road

Best Animated Short Film: The Ballad of Immortal Joe, Pazit Chalon
Best Live Action Short Film Drama: She Stoops To Conquer, Zachary Russell
Best Short Film Documentary: Bacon & God's Wrath, Sol Friedman

Best Feature Length Documentary: Hurt, Alan Zweig
Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary: Armand Bouquet for Last of the Elephant Men
Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary: James Scott for How to Change the World

To check winners in Television categories go here, is a pdf file.

No comments yet