Monday, March 21, 2016

1st Gala du Cinéma Québécois Awards Winners

Not long ago was announced that there will be no more Jutra Awards due to the scandal surrounding famous Québécois filmmaker Claude Jutra; so this year Québec Cinéma, the group that organizes this award, gave the French-language films Canadian awards an interim name that most likely, according to press reports, will be the only year the ceremony will go with that name.

Award winners received a new wooden statue that will replace the previous statue created by Charles Daudelin. In three weeks Madly Fuss and Simon Marcotte from Nouveau Studio created and made the new trophy that is made of solid maple, painted white, with gold and acrylic leaves; with the time constrain there was no possibility to make trophies out of bronze.

The big winner of the night is La Passion d' Augustine by Léa Pool as collected six awards, from the 10 nominations it got, including Best Film. To refresh your memories here are so of her films: 2001 Lost and Delirious, 1986 Anne Trister, 2008 Maman est chez le coiffeur (Mommy is at the Hairdresser's). Yes, her latest film is most be seen for me.

Below are the winners for the main categories, to read winners in all categories go official site here, available only in French.

Best Film: La Passion d'Augustine, Léa Pool
Best Director: Léa Pool for La Passion d'Augustine

Best Actress: Céline Bonnier in La Passion d'Augustine
Best Supporting Actress: Diane Lavallée in La Passion d'Augustine
Best Actor: Gilbert Sicotte in Paul à Québec
Best Supporting Actor: Irdens Exantus in Guibord s'en va-t-en guerre (My Internship in Canada)

Best Cinematography: Yves Bélanger for Brooklyn
Best Production Design: François Séguin for Brooklyn
Best Editing: Richard Comeau for Guibord s'en va-t-en guerre (My Internship in Canada)
Best Sound: Raymond Vermette, Christian Rivest, Stéphane Bergeron, Guy Pelletier and Julie Dufour for La Guerre des Tuques 3D (Snowtime!)
Best Costumes: Michèle Hamel for La Passion d'Augustine
Best Makeup: Olivier Xavier for Turbo Kid
Best Hairstyle: Martin Lapointe for La Passion d'Augustine

Best Documentary: Ouïghours, prisonniers de l'absurde (Uyghurs: Prisoners of the Absurd), Patricio Henriquez
Best Short Film Fiction: Maurice, François Jaros
Best Short Film Animation: Autos Portraits, Claude Cloutier

Film with more success outside Quebec: Félix et Meira, Maxime Giroux
Billet d'Or: La Guerre des Tuques 3D (Snowtime!)

It's not only the name change due to terrible scandal, also these awards are marred by lots of articles talking about group giving awards to "arty" films and not recognizing films that had big Quebec box office (!!!). (lol) Hope that by next year all the turbulence around this award will settle down and Canadian French-language cinema can have again their trophys and prizes that acknowledge great Quebecois Cinema.

No comments yet