Saturday, January 30, 2016

66th Annual ACE EDDIE Awards Winners

Last night the American Cinema Editors had their award ceremony and can't say that was a surprise that the Eddie for Best Edited Feature Film Dramatic went to Mad Max: Fury Road or finding a movie that is no comedy -and is the top runner for the Best Film Oscar- won in the comedy or musical category.

Imagine that Mad Max has become the front runner in AMPAS Best Film Editing category but the guild is not one of the largest and wonder what will happen when all qualifying voters vote in this category. Nevertheless past years stats suggests that the category winner could be the film directed by George Miller and edited by Margaret Sixel.

To check winners in TV and other categories go official site here. Winners are in *BLUE.

Today the American Cinema Editors announced their nominations for the EDDIE Awards and there are some surprises but the biggest undoubtedly is the absence of Spotlight which many pundits expected to be included in most guilds nominations.

Worth mentioning that in 9 of the past 12 years, the winner of the Eddie for best edited dramatic feature has gone on to win the Oscar in film editing; so chances are that some EDDIE nominees could also get an Oscar nomination.

Awards ceremony will be on January 29 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Best Edited Drama
*Margaret Sixel for Mad Max: Fury Road
Pietro Scalia for The Martian
Stephen Mirrione for The Revenant
Joe Walker for Sicario
Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey for Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Edited Comedy or Musical
Dan Lebental and Colby Parker Jr. for Ant-Man
*Hank Corwin for The Big Short
Jay Cassidy, Alan Baumgarten, Christopher Tellefsen and Tom Cross for Joy
David Tracktenberg for Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
William Kerr and Paul Zucker for Trainwreck

Best Edited Animated Film
Garret Elkins for Anomalisa
*Kevin Nolting for Inside Out
Stephen Schaffer for The Good Dinosaur

Best Edited Documentary
*Chris King for Amy
Joe Beshenkovsky and Brett Morgen for Cobain: Montage of Heck
Andy Grieve for Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
Greg Finton, Brian Johnson and Brad Fuller for He Named Me Malala
Claire Scanlon for The Wrecking Crew

To read the announcement at the official site and to learn the Television categories go here but they haven't post date yet. To fast check go news here.

No comments yet