Tuesday, December 01, 2015

2015 National Board of Review Award Winners

A few minutes ago the NBR announce their award winners and can't deny my very positive surprise that the group selected as their Best Film none other than the winner of the FIPRESCI Film of the Year award, Mad Max: Fury Road.

In general got the impression that their winners are surprisingly very mainstream cinema and yes, even NBR's president admits it in the following statement.

NBR President Annie Schulhof said, “2015 has been a banner year for popular cinema. We are thrilled to be awarding George Miller and Ridley Scott, two iconic filmmakers at the top of their game, while also celebrating the next generation of talent.”

These are the winners.

Best Film: Mad Max: Fury Road, George Miller

Best Director: Ridley Scott for The Martian
Best Directorial Debut: Jonas Carpignano for Mediterranea

Best Actress: Brie Larson in Room
Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Jason Leigh in The Hateful Eight
Best Actor: Matt Damon in The Martian
Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone in Creed
Best Ensemble: The Big Short
Breakthrough Performance: (tie)
Abraham Attah in Beasts of No Nation
Jacob Tremblay in Room

Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino for The Hateful Eight
Best Adapted Screenplay: Drew Goddard for The Martian

Best Animated Feature: Inside Out
Best Foreign Language Film: Saul Fia (Son of Saul), László Nemes
Best Documentary: Amy, Asif Kapadia

William K. Everson Film History Award: Cecilia De Mille Presley (yes, granddaughter of legendary director Cecil B. DeMille)
Spotlight Award: Sicario for Outstanding Collaborative Vision
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Beasts of No Nation, Cary Joji Fukunaga
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Mustang, Deniz Gamze Ergüven

Top Films
Bridge of Spies
The Hateful Eight
Inside Out
The Martian
Straight Outta Compton

Top 5 Foreign Language Films
Goodnight Mommy
The Second Mother
The Tribe

Top 5 Documentaries
Best of Enemies
The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution
The Diplomat
Listen to Me Marlon
The Look of Silence

Top 10 Independent Films
45 Years
Cop Car
Ex Machina
It Follows
James White
Mississippi Grind
Welcome to Me
While We’re Young

The National Board of Review honors diverse members of the film community at their annual Awards Gala, which also acts as a fundraiser for student grant philanthropy. Hosted by Willie Geist, this year’s gala will take place on January 5, 2016 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

No comments yet