Saturday, March 14, 2015

2015 Swiss Film Awards Winners

Docufiction The Circle was the big winner of the night as won four Quartz trophies out of the five nominations it had. Another multiple winner is documentary Electroboy that picked two awards.

Jean-Luc Godard was the recipient of the 2015 Honorary Award in recognition of his outstanding body of work. For health reasons, he was not able to collect the award in person. However, the director sent a video message greeting the guests. Federal Councilor, Alain Berset, paid tribute to the contribution that the internationally acclaimed director has made during his career: “Your films blend genres and forms. They transform the banal into poetry. They are deftly suffused with a knowing amateurism, with cheerless folly and joyous pessimism. They are sometimes sociological, sometimes political. They are the melody of phrases, the grammar of sound. Your work is to cinema what jazz is to music.

We already have a date for the 2016 awards ceremony which will be held on Friday, March 18, 2016 at the Schiffbau in Zurich.

Winners are in *BLUE. To read winners at official site go here.

Best Feature Film
Bouboule (Chubby), Bruno Deville
Chrieg, Simon Jaquemet
*Der Kreis (The Circle), Stefan Haupt
Dora oder Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern, Stina Werenfels
Pause, Mathieu Urfer

Best Documentary Film
*Electroboy, Marcel Gisler
Iraqi Odyssey, Samir
Tableau Noir, Yves Yersin
ThuleTuvalu, Matthias von Gunten
Yalom's Cure, Sabine Gisiger

Best Short Film
*Discipline, Christophe M. Saber
En août (In August), Jenna Hasse
La petite leçon de cinéma: Le Documentaire, Jean‐Stéphane Bron
Petit Homme, Jean‐Guillaume Sonnier
Tišina mujo, Ursula Meier

Best Animated Film
Aubade, Mauro Carraro
Messages dans l'air, Isabelle Favez
*Timber, Nils Hedinger

Best Screenplay
Antoine Jaccoud and Bruno Deville for Bouboule
*Stefan Haupt, Christian Felix, Ivan Madeo and Urs Frey for Der Kreis (The Circle)
Stina Werenfels and Boris Treyer for Dora oder Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern

Best Actress
Ursina Lardi in Unter der Haut
Sylvie Marinkovic in Cure: The Life of Another
*Sabine Timoteo in Driften

Best Actor
Baptiste Gilliéron in Pause
Benjamin Lutzke in Chrieg
*Sven Schelker in Der Kreis (The Circle)

Best Performance in a Supporting Role
Nils Althaus in Pause
*Peter Jeckli in Der Kreis (The Circle)
Ella Rumpf in Chrieg

Best Film Score
Peter Scherer for Dora oder Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern
Balduin for Electroboy
*Mathieu Urfer, Marcin de Morsier, John Woolloff and Ariel Garcia for Pause
Balz Bachmann for Yalom's Cure

Best Cinematography
*Lorenz Merz for Chrieg
Lukas Strebel for Dora oder Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern
Pierre Mennel for ThuleTuvalu

Best Film Editing
Christof Schertenleib for Chrieg
Christoph Menzi for Der Kreis (The Circle)
*Thomas Bachmann for Electroboy

January 30, 2015
The contenders for the 2015 Swiss Film Award have been revealed on January 28th in Solothurn during the Nominations Night event by the director of the Federal Office of Culture Isabelle Chassot. Around 300 members of the Swiss Film Academy watched and rated the 88 films entered in the 11 Swiss Film Award categories. The results of the anonymous vote serve as a recommendation for the Swiss Film Award jury whose task it is to select the final nominees.

Chrieg by Simon Jaquement and the Swiss submission to Oscar, Der Kreis (The Circle) by Stefan Haupt lead the pack with five nominations each.  It is a pleasant surprise to find a film by Ursula Meier as her films are absolutely must be seen for me; here is a short film by the celebrated filmmaker of outstanding films like Home and Sister.

To read nominations at official site go here. For the Swiss Film Award, artist and sculptor Jean Mauboulès has designed a “Quartz” trophy which exudes understated elegance, clarity and precision.

The 18th awards ceremony will take place on March 13 in Geneva's Bâtiment des Forces Motrices. In the week leading up to the Swiss Film Award ceremony (9-15 March 2015), two cinemas in Zurich and Geneva will offer the general public the opportunity to watch the films nominated for an award and talk directly to film-makers about their work.

No comments yet