Saturday, January 31, 2015

65th Annual ACE EDDIE Awards Winners

Last night the group had their black-tie ceremony where trophies were handed out in ten categories of film, television and documentary.

Award-winning filmmaker Frank Marshall received the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year, Career Achievement Awards went to industry veterans Diane Adler and Jerry Greenberg. The Robert Wise Award, which has only been presented a few times in the organization history, was presented to journalist Carolyn Giardina of The Hollywood Reporter.

If one movie I do believe deserves an editing award for job well done is Boyhood as is hard to imagine the amount of material an editor has to deal after 12 years of filming and how figure out how much story time to give to each age and body-change of the protagonist.  The movie won Best Edited Drama.

To check winners in all categories go here

Winners are in *BLUE.

Today the American Cinema Editors announced their nominations for the EDDIE Awards with a very unusual tie in the best edited drama that originated six nominees in the category.

Best Edited Drama
Joel Cox and Gary Roach for American Sniper
*Sandra Adair for Boyhood
Kirk Baxter for Gone Girl
William Goldenberg for The Imitation Game
John Gilroy for Nightcrawler
Tom Cross for Whiplash

Best Edited Comedy or Musical
Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione for Birdman
Fred Raskin, Hughes Winborne and Craig Wood for Guardians of the Galaxy
Wyatt Smith for Into the Woods
Leslie Jones for Inherent Vice
*Barney Pilling for The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Edited Animated Film
Tim Mertens for Big Hero 6
Edie Ichioka for The Boxtrolls
*David Burrows and Chris McKay for The Lego Movie

Best Edited Documentary
*Mathilde Bonnefoy for Citizenfour
Aaron Wickenden for Finding Vivian Maier
Elisa Bonora for Glen Campbell: I'll Be Me

To read the announcement at the official site and to learn the Television categories go here.

No comments yet