Sunday, February 15, 2015

51st Cinema Audio Society Award Winners

Last night the society had their awards ceremony where Richard Linklater received the Cinema Audio Society Award.  Winners in all categories were announced live via facebook but soon will be at their official site here.

If you wish to now check winners in other categories than motion picture use the facebook link that will work for a while as the timeline moves fast in that social media.

When the awards season started many where speculating that Interstellar could get most, if not all, the tech awards including Oscar.   As season developed we noticed that Interstellar went into oblivion and Birdman rose even in the tech categories.  So it is no surprise to find that out that Birdman won the outstanding sound mixing in a live action feature award.  In the past 12 years, six of the CAS winners went on to win an Oscar, so historic data tells us that is a 50/50 record, but how the 2014/2015 awards season has evolved suggests that Birdman is the Oscar front-runner in this category.

Winners are in *BLUE.

The Cinema Audio Society (CAS) announces the nominees for the current edition of the awards that honor Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing. The awards will be presented on February 14th in the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium Biltmore Hotel. During the awards the highest honor of the CAS – the CAS Career Achievement Award will be presented to Production Sound Mixer David Macmillan, CAS. Doug McIntyre, host of KABC Talk Radio’s McIntyre in the Morning, will be returning as the Master of Ceremonies

On the evening of the Awards the Cinema Audio Society website will be updated in real time as the winners are announced.

The following are the nominations for the Motion Picture categories.

Live Action
American Sniper
Guardians of the Galaxy

*Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The Lego Movie
Penguins of Madagascar

To learn the names of the nominees for each nominated movie plus the nominations for television and other categories go to the official site here.

No comments yet