2019/2020 Key Dates
Film Critics Update: Today, January 14 - Winners from Denver FCS.

Sunday, February 01, 2015

27th Annual Scripter Award Winner

Last night the renown writers award was given to the screenwriter and author of book on which is based The Imitation Game.

If you wish to learn some stats, Scripter award winners have gone to win best adapted screenplay Oscar ten times over the past 26 years the award has been handed out. So we can say that the winner is not much of an Oscar bellwether since it has rarely matched the Academy winners for adapted script but definitively that is not the purpose of this award that looks to spotlight writers.

News are not yet at their official site but soon will be here.

Winner is in *BLUE.

Today the USC Libraries announced the finalists for the current edition of the award that honors the screenwriter (s) and original author (s) of what the selection committee believes is the year's most accomplished cinematic adaptation.

Gillian Flynn, author and screenwriter of Gone Girl
*Author Andrew Hodges, who wrote the book Alan Turing: The Enigma, and screenwriter Graham Moore for The Imitation Game
Novelist Thomas Pynchon and screenwriter Paul Thomas Anderson for Inherent Vice
Jane Hawking, author of Traveling To Infinity: My Life With Stephen, and screenwriter Anthony McCarten for The Theory of Everything
Screenwriter Nick Hornby and author Cheryl Strayed’s memoir Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail for Wild

Awards ceremony will be on Saturday, January 31 at the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library on the University Park campus of USC and will stream live at the official site here.

No comments yet