Monday, October 13, 2014

27th European Film Awards: European Discovery - Prix FIPRESCI Nominations

The European Film Academy congratulates the nominees for the EUROPEAN DISCOVERY 2014 – Prix FIPRESCI, an award presented annually as part of the European Film Awards to a young and upcoming director for a first full-length feature film.

This year’s nominations were determined by a committee comprised of EFA Board Members Ilann Girard (France) and Dagmar Jacobsen (Germany), EFA Members Paul Negoescu (Romania) and José Luis Cienfuegos (Spain), as well as Krzysztof Kwiatkowski (Poland), Marco Spagnoli (Italy) and Neil Young (UK) as representatives of FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics.

The nominees.
10,000 Km, Carlos Marques-Marcet, Spain
71, Yan Demange, UK
La Herida (Wounded), Fernando Franco, Spain
Party Girl, Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger, and Samuel Theis, France
ПЛЕМЯ Plemya (The Tribe), Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy, Ukraine

Have to admit that is surprising to find two films from Spain among the nominees, so there is hope for Spain's cinema improvement. If you wish to learn more about each movie go EFA's official site here.

The nominated films will soon be submitted to the more than 3,000 EFA Members to elect the winner. The European Discovery 2014 – Prix FIPRESCI will then be presented at the European Film Awards Ceremony in Riga on Saturday, 13 December – streamed live on

No comments yet