Friday, April 04, 2014

22nd L'Acid News

While we have to wait until Tuesday, April 22 to learn the ACID selection with the nine (9) films that will get promotion at Cannes thanks to the join effort of CNC and SACD, we can take a look at the independent section of the festival poster.

The poster was designed by Natalia Olbinski, student at École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (EnsAD). Find poster perhaps too graphically traditional and due to the nature of the association activities poster should be a lot more with modern graphic design. Sigh.

For your information ACID is an association of film directors which, for 21 years, has been promoting the cinema distribution of independent films and encouraging debates between the authors and the audiences. The strength of ACID is its founding principle : the support given by filmmakers to other filmmakers, French or international.

ACID has had its own programme at the Cannes International Film Festival since 1993. It screens nine feature films, fiction and documentary, chosen by ACID filmmakers among hundreds of works from all around the world. ACID filmmakers follow their love for a film and wish to give visibility to directors whose work is scarcely distributed, in order to facilitate a theatrical release.

ACID’s Cannes programme is a long-awaited meeting for distributors, film programmers and international festivals. It allows them to see films and for ACID to rely on the programmers’ feedback to prepare the releases. The screenings, in the presence of ACID filmmakers and the films’ crews, are also open to the public and to high school students of the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region.

The films shown in Cannes are then accompanied by ACID and its filmmakers in the various stages of the theatrical release (search for distributors / promotion / programming / organization of the Q&A’s / audience research).

Among authors discovered in ACID Cannes are : Lucas Belvaux, Serge Bozon, Djinn Carrénard, Vincent Dieutre, Rachid Djaïdani, Alain Gomis, Arnaud et Jean-Marie Larrieu, Ursula Meier, Avi Mograbi, Yolande Moreau & Gilles Porte, Nicolás Pereda, Pierre Schoeller, Claire Simon…

No comments yet