Sunday, March 02, 2014

2013 The Independent Film Awards Winners

Yesterday was the Spirits Awards ceremony and somehow surprisingly top categories winners are the 'expected' Oscar winners which is highly unusual when the Indie world collides with the Studio world (aka Hollywood).

With the Spirit Awards winners post becomes final and in one sight you have an idea of what's going on in the English-language Independent Film world. Think next year will do the same.

Post will list the WINNERS only for the three Independent Awards in USA and UK. So will be a work in progress until the last organization announces their winners in March 2014.

23rd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards Winners
Nominations at Official Site
Best Feature: Inside LLewyn Davis
Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award: Ryan Coogler for Frutivale Station
Best Actress: Brie Larson in Short Term 12
Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club
Breakthrough Actor: Michael B. Jordan in Frutivale Station
Best Documentary: The Act of Killing
Audience Award: Jake Shimabujuro: Life on Four Strings

British Independent Film Awards
Nominations at Official Site

Best British Independent Film: Metro Manila
Best Director: Sean Ellis for Metro Manila
Douglas Hickox Award - Directorial Debut: Paul Wright for For Those in Peril
Best Screenplay: Steven Knight for Locke
Best Actress: Lindsay Duncan for Le Week-end
Best Supporting Actress: Imogen Poots in The Look of Love
Best Actor: James McAvoy for Filth
Best Supporting Actor: Ben Mendelsohn in Starred Up
Most Promising Newcomer: Chloe Pirrie in Shell
Best Technical Achievement: Amy Hubbard for The Selfish Giant (Casting)
Best Achivement in Production: Metro Manila
Raindance Award: The Machine
Best British Documentary: Pussy Riot - A Punk Prayer
Best Short Film: Z1
Best International Independent Film: Blue is the Warmest Colour
Variety Award: Paul Greengrass
Richard Harris Award: Julie Walters

Film Independent Spirit Awards
Award Ceremony on March 1st, 2014
Nominations at Official Site Winners will eventually be there but here they are from news.

Best Feature: 12 Years a Slave
Best Director: Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave
Best First Feature: Frutivale Station, Ryan Coogler

Best Female Lead: Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine
Best Supporting Female: Lupita Nyong'o in 12 Years a Slave
Best Male Lead: Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club
Best Supporting Male: Jared Leto in Dallas Buyers Club

Best Documentary: 20 Feet From Stardom
Best International Film: Blue is the Warmest Color, Abdellatif Kechiche, France

Best Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years a Slave
Best Screenplay: John Ridley for 12 Years a Slave
Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson for Nebraska
Best Editing: Nat Sanders for Short Term 12

Robert Altman Award: Mud, Jeff Nichols
John Cassavetes Award: This is Martin Bonner, Chad Hartigan
Someone to Watch Award: Shaka King for Newlyweeds
Truer Than Fiction Award: Jason Osder for Let The Fire Burn
Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston

No comments yet