Sunday, January 26, 2014

66th Annual Directors Guild of America Awards Winners

Last night the Directors Guild of America had their awards ceremony and there are no surprises as Alfonso Cuarón won the top award which makes him the most likely to win an Oscar director and yes, puts again Gravity in the Best Picture contention. But for me, Gravity has always been a contender along with American Hustle and 12 Years a Slave.

Award history says that for the last 65 years of the 85 in which the Academy Awards have been presented, the DGA has presented awards too; over the course of that time, the winner of the guild's top award has gone to win the best director Oscar on all but seven (7) occasions and his/her film has gone to win best picture Oscar on all but thirteen (13) occasions. So, truth is that Oscar best picture race has become tight and interesting.

Winners are in *BLUE and to check winners in all categories go official site.

Today the DGA announced the nominations for outstanding directorial achievement in feature film for 2013 and there are no real surprises as we all know that there are only five slots and the question was which directors will make it and which will not.

“To be chosen by your peers in a year full of incredibly well-crafted films is the true marker of outstanding directorial achievement,” said Paris Barclay, guild President. “The passion and vision of each of the nominees resulted in tremendously diverse films that kept audiences mesmerized. Congratulations to each of the nominees on a job very well done.”

Winners will be announced at the 66th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 25, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

The Nominees

Feature Film Award

*Alfonso Cuarón for Gravity
Paul Greengrass for Captain Phillips
Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave
David O. Russell for American Hustle
Martin Scorsese for The Wolf of Wall Street

We can predict that the above five movies will be nominated for Best Picture and that all directors, except one, will get a nod in Best Director category. To read press release go here.

Documentary Award

Zachary Heinzerling for Cutie and the Boxer
*Jehane Noujaim for The Square
Joshua Oppenheimer for The Act of Killing
Sarah Polley for Stories We Tell
Lucy Walker for The Crash Reel

To read the press release with the documentary nominations go here.

No comments yet