Thursday, December 12, 2013

7th Asia Pacific Screen Award Winners

A few minutes ago the awards ceremony took place in Brisbane, Australia and unfortunately was not able to watch it live, but will check video later as previous editions have been entertaining in a very serious/elegant/cultural way which for me is refreshing as most award ceremonies try to entertain with humor and not always succeed with me.

Winners are in *BLUE. Besides the awards in the main category there were also accolades for the following films:

Jury Grand Prize
Television, Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, Bangladesh and
Ritesh Batra for The Lunchbox, India, France and Germany

UNESCO Award: The Painting Pool, Maziar Miri, Iran

Yesterday Brisbane Lord Mayor Graham Quirk announce the nominees for this year APSA's with 39 films from 21 Asia Pacific countries and areas vying for the region's highest accolade in film; for the first time nominations have gone to films from Bangladesh, Jordan and Saudi Arabia.

Omar by Hany Abu-Assad received the most nominations with a total of three followed by Like Father, Like Son, The Old Man, My Sweet Pepperland, Television and The Past with two each.

Best Feature Film
Oba Nathuwa Oba Ekka (With You, Without You), Prasanna Vithanage, Sri Lanka
*Omar, Hany Abu-Assad, Palestine
Le Passé (The Past), Asghar Farhadi, France and Italy
Soshite chichi ni naru (Like Father, Like Son), Hirokazu Kore-eda, Japan
Television, Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, Bangladesh
The Turning, Australia (Anthology with 18 directors of 18 shorts)

Best Children's Feature Film
*Beom-joe So-nyeon (Juvenile Offender), Korea
Lamma Shoftak (When I Saw You), Palestine and Jordan
Shopping, New Zealand
Tabidachi no Shima Uta – Jugo no Haru (Leaving on the 15th Spring), Japan
Wadjda, Saudi Arabia and Germany

Best Animated Feature Film
Goopi Gawaiya Bagha Bajaiya (The World of Goopi and Bagha), India
Kaze Tachinu (The Wind Rises), Japan
*Koo! Kin-Dza-Dza, Russia
Sa-i-bi (The Fake), Korea
Sakasama no Patema (Patema Inverted), Japan

Best Documentary Film
*The Act of Killing, Denmark, Norway and UK
Alam Laysa Lana (A World Not Ours), Lebanon, UK, UAE, Denmark and Palestine
Frihet Bakom Galler (No Burqas Behind Bars), Sweden, Japan, Netherlands and Denmark
Menstrual Man, Singapore and India
Shomrei Hasaf (The Gatekeepers), Israel, France, Germany and Belgium

Achievement in Directing
*Anthony Chen for Ilo Ilo, Singapore
Emir Baigazin for Uroki Garmonii (Harmony Lessons), Kazakhstan, Germany and France
Hiner Saleem for My Sweet Pepperland, Iraqi Kurdistan, France and Germany
Hirokazu Kore-eda for Soshite chichi ni naru (Like Father, Like Son), Japan
Shahram Mokri for Mahi Va Gorbeh (Fish and Cat), Iran

Best Screenplay
Asghar Farhadi for Le Passé (The Past)
Denis Osokin for Nebesnye Ženy Lugovykh Mari (Celestial Wives of the Meadow Mari), Russia
Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, Anisul Haque for Television, Bangladesh
*Ritesh Batra for The Lunchbox, India, France and Germany
U-Wei Bin Hajisaari for Hanyut (Almayer’s Folly), Malaysia

Achievement in Cinematography
Ehab Assal for Omar, Palestine
*Lu Yue for Yi Jiu Si Er (Back to 1942), China
Mandy Walker for Tracks, Australia and UK
Murat Alyev for Shal (The Old Man), Kazahstan
Rajeev Ravi for Monsoon Shootout, India, UK and Netherlands

Best Performance by an Actress
Ayça Damgacı in Yozgat Blues, Turkey and Germany
Golshifteh Farahani in My Sweet Pepperland, Iraqi Kurdistan, France and Germany
Negar Javaherian in The Painting Pool, Iran
Whirimako Black in Tuakiri Huna (White Lies), New Zealand
*Zhang Ziyi in Yi dai zong shi (The Grandmaster), Hong Kong and China

Best Performance by an Actor
Aaron Pedersen in Mystery Road, Australia
Adam Bakri in Omar, Palestine
*Lee Byung-hun in Masquerade, Korea
Tatsuya Nakadai in Nippon no higeki (Japan's Tragedy), Japan
Yerbolat Toguzakov in Shal (The Old Man), Kazahkstan

Winners in the feature film categories will be determined by the 2013 APSA International Jury, headed by esteemed Indian screenwriter and director Shyam Benegal, who will lead a group of accomplished Jury members including Korean screenwriter and director Kim Tae-yong, “Queen of Sri Lankan Cinema” actress of stage and screen Hon Dr Malani Fonseka, Turkish actor Tamer Levent, Swiss director Christoph Schaub and Hong Kong producer Albert Lee. The International Jury can also, at its discretion, present a further prize: the Jury Grand Prize, for which nominated narrative feature films are eligible.

The 2013 Asia Pacific Screen Awards ceremony will be held in Brisbane’s historic City Hall on Thursday 12 December.

No comments yet