Sunday, January 27, 2013

24th Annual Producers Guild Awards Winners

Last night the guild had their award ceremony and from Twitter winners are in *BLUE. Winners are not yet at official site, but soon they will be; use link at bottom of post to check television categories.

These awards usually predict possible Oscar winners, so in theory Argo has good chances to win Best Picture but since nominations brought us so many unpleasant surprises, I do not dare to guess if Academy members will replicate what happened here. Still, I am hoping that the best documentary that I have seen "ever", Searching for Sugar Man, gets the Oscar as truly deserves it.


The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced late yesterday the motion picture and long-form television nominations which complement the documentary film and other television categories previously announced. Now the over 5,000 members will have to vote to define winners in each category.

All 2013 Producers Guild Award winners will be announced on January 26th at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. This year, the Producers Guild will also present special honors to Bob and Harvey Weinstein (Milestone Award), Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures), J.J. Abrams (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television), Russell Simmons (Visionary Award) and Bully (Stanley Kramer Award).

These are the nominations for Theatrical Motion Pictures, including documentary.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

*Ben Affleck, George Clooney and Grant Heslov for Argo (Warner Bros.)
Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey and Josh Penn for Beasts of the Southern Wild (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Reginald Hudlin, Pilar Savone and Stacey Sher for Django Unchained (The Weinstein Company)
Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward and Cameron Mackintosh for Les Misérables (Universal Pictures)
Ang Lee, Gil Netter and David Womark for Life of Pi (Fox 2000 Pictures)
Kathleen Kennedy and Steven Spielberg for Lincoln (Touchstone Pictures)
Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson and Steven Rales for Moonrise Kingdom (Focus Features)
Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti and Jonathan Gordon for Silver Linings Playbook (The Weinstein Company)
Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson Skyfall (MGM/Columbia Pictures)
Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and Megan Ellison for Zero Dark Thirty (Columbia Pictures)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Katherine Sarafian for Brave (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
Allison Abbate and Tim Burton for Frankenweenie (Walt Disney Pictures)
*Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner for ParaNorman (Focus Features)
Nancy Bernstein and Christina Steinberg for Rise of the Guardians (Paramount Pictures)
Clark Spencer for Wreck-It Ralph (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures

Marc Swenker and Aaron Yeger for A People Uncounted (Urbinder Films)
Estelle Fialon, Philippa Kowarsky and Dror Moreh for The Gatekeepers (Sony Pictures Classics)
Richard Berge and Bonni Cohen for The Island President (Samuel Goldwyn Films)
Marius Markevicius and Jon Weinbach for The Other Dream Team (The Film Arcade)
*Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn for Searching For Sugar Man (Sony Pictures Classics)

To check nominations in television categories go here.  As we know these awards gives us an idea of the possible Oscar nominations for the Best Film category; most films have already buzz and maybe the huge surprise is the absence of The Master, however we know that film got great critics reviews but after started to lag in current award season. Now we have the best guess for the Best Film Oscar category IF 10 films get nominated, but if you check last year nods you will notice that NOT all PGA's honored films went to get an Oscar nod.

No comments yet