Sunday, February 03, 2013

17th Annual Art Directors Guild Awards Winners

Last night winners announced at the awards ceremony in *BLUE. To learn Television and other categories winners use link at post bottom, there are some surprises for me.

From winners there are only two films in the Oscar category, so we can assume that Guild members that also are AMPAS members will split vote among these two: Anna Karenina and Life of Pi. As have seen both movies my personal opinion is that Production Design is a lot better in Life of Pi; but recognize that Anna Karerina has a very original production design, so original that made film unwatchable for me. Sigh.

The Art Directors Guild (ADG) today announced nominations in nine categories of Production Design for theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials and music videos competing in the ADG’s 17th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards. The nominations were announced by ADG Council Chair John Shaffner and Awards co-producers Greg Grande and Raf Lydon. Deadline for final voting, which is done online, is January 31.

The ADG represents nearly 2,000 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, and Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers. Members will now have to vote to define winners and the awards ceremony will take place Saturday, February 2, 2013, from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills with Paula Poundstone serving as host for the fourth consecutive year.

These are the nominations for Feature Film

Period Film
*Sarah Greenwood for Anna Karenina
Sharon Seymour for Argo
J. Michael Riva for Django Unchained
Eve Stewart for Les Misérables
Rick Carter for Lincoln

Fantasy Film
Uli Hanisch and Hugh Bateup for Cloud Atlas
*David Gropman for Life of Pi
Arthur Max for Prometheus
Nathan Crowley and Kevin Kavanaugh for The Dark Night Rises
Dan Hannah for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Contemporary Film
Nelson Coates for Flight
*Dennis Gassner for Skyfall
Alan MacDonald for The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Eugenio Caballero for The Impossible
Jeremy Hindle for Zero Dark Thirty

To learn nominees in television, commercials and music videos go here. Nominations show us a great variety of films that could get an Oscar nomination in this category; but up to this moment Anna Karenina, Les Misérables, Lincoln and The Hobbit are the ones with more buzz along with another film that got no nod from this guild, The Master.

No comments yet