Friday, November 23, 2012

6th Annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards Winners

Was able to watch the ending of the awards ceremony and enjoy live the amazing concerts especially the one with Ryuichi Sakamoto performing a composition from Bernardo Bertolucci's The Last Emperor. Awards ceremonies like this one are centered in culture and is not an easy task as the Asian Pacific Screen Academy groups 70 countries/territories with very different cultures.

At the Queensland Performing Arts Centre in Brisbane, Australia , the ceremony gave Awards and High Commendations to films from ten countries and areas of Asia Pacific including Turkey, India, Indonesia, Iraqi-Kurdistan, Israel, Japan, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Republic of Korea and Taiwan, and Iraq.

These are the 2012 winners.

Best Feature Film: Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Emin Alper, Turkey and Greece

Jury President statement: Beyond the Hill took us on a journey to hidden secrets within a family. It was a microcosm of what can happen in a more universal situation. The characters were truthful and complex, it told the story in an original and different way. Beyond the Hill dealt with our tendency to look on the outside for a solution when the real problems lie within.

High Commendation: Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time), Jong-bin Yun, Korea

UNESCO Award: Seediq Bale (Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale), Wei Te-sheng, Taiwan

Screen International Jury Grand Prizes
Director Anurag Kashyap for Gangs of Wasseypur, India
Actress Cho Min-soo in Pieta, Kim Ki-duk, Korea
High Commendation: Writer Joseph Cedar for Hearat Shulayim (Footnote), Joseph Cedar, Israel

Achievement in Directing: Brillante Mendoza for Sinapupunan (Thy Womb), Philippines
High Commendation: Cheng Er for Bian jing feng yun (Lethal Hostage), China

Best Performance by an Actress: Nora Aunor in Sinapupunan (Thy Womb), Brillante Mendoza, Philippines
High Commendation: Darya Ekamasova in Жила-была одна баба Zila bila odna baba (Once Upon a Time There Lived a Simple Woman), Andrey Smirnov, Russia

Best Performance by an Actor: Choi Min-sik in Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time), Jong-bin Yun, Korea
High Commendation: Lior Ashkenazi in Hearat shulayim (Footnote), Joseph Cedar, Israel

Achievement in Cinematography: Touraj Aslani for Fasle Kargadan (Rhino Season), Bahman Ghobadi, Iraqi-Kurdistan and Turkey

Best Screenplay: Reis Çelik for Lal gece (Night of Silence), Reis Çelik, Turkey

Best Documentary Feature Film: In My Mother's Arms, Atea Al Daradji and Mohamed Al Daradji, Iraq, UK and Netherlands
High Commendation: Planet of Snail, Yi Seung-jun, Korea, Japan and Finland

Best Animation Feature Film: Momo e no tegami (A Letter to Momo), Hiroyuki Okiura, Japan
Best Children's Feature Film: Launt Bercemin (The Mirror Never Lies), Kamila Andini, Indonesia

The Best Film award went to Emin Alper's debut film that was premiered at the Forum section of the 2012 Berlinale where won a Special Mention in the Best First Feature category and has been collecting more honors while travelling the fest circuit. But the best news for me is Rhino Season winning a cinematography award as somehow confirms that film has to have great visual images.

No comments yet