Tuesday, November 27, 2012

22nd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards Winners

Officially the American award season started last night with winners announced at the "lackluster" ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. As you can tell the ceremony was streamed live but unfortunately streaming quality was really bad due to bandwidth problems as stated by organizers in twitter.

I was able to watch for a while and the most enjoyable part was the nominated movie clips but as many others that were watching, stopped when the "error" message came back. Most disappointing was to learn, according to comments from the few that stayed watching, the tributes were not broadcasted and what I was most interested in watching was the tribute to Marion Cotillard. I'm not deleting the previous post as seems there will be a "live recording" of the ceremony... soon, and still will like to see what I missed. If you wish to see the recording and if becomes available, will let you know by twitter.

There are some unexpected surprises but perhaps the biggest is that The Master got no recognition from this group, which could mean that now the movie needs critic's groups to honor film or will not make it to the Oscar race. On the positive side I'm glad that Your Sister's Sister got honored with the Best Ensemble Performance as movie real value was the extraordinary performances given by the cast, especially the female cast. Then Moonrise Kingdom (photo) was surprisingly good and enjoyable so I'm glad that was honored with the top award.

These are the winners.

Best Feature: Moonrise Kingdom, Wes Anderson

Breakthrough Director: Benh Zeitlin for Beasts of the Southern Wild

Breakthrough Actor: Emayatzy Corinealdi in Middle of Nowhere, Ava DuVernay

Best Ensemble Performance: Your Sister's Sister by Lynn Shelton
Emily Blunt, Rosemarie Dewitt, Mark Duplass

Best Documentary: How to Survive a Plague, David France

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You: An Over Simplification Of Her Beauty, Terence Nance

Spotlight on Women Filmmakers "Live the Dream" grant: Stacie Passon for Concussion

Audience Award: Artifact by Bartholomew Cubbins

Marion Cotillard
Matt Damon
David O. Russell
Jeff Skoll

Even if I did not enjoyed at all the movie story I'm able to recognize that Benh Zeitlin did take a lot of risks so can't complain with him being honored with the Breakthrough Director award; however now started to wonder about film possibilities for the Oscar Best Actress category. So that's it for this year winners. Later today, the nominations for the other independent film awards will be announced, so see you soon.

No comments yet