Sunday, December 09, 2012

15th British Independent Film Award Winners

So unfortunately that BIFA didn't streamed live the awards ceremony, but with everything that is happening today at the same time, I'm really glad they didn't. With the amount of awards that Berberian Sound Studio collected I was suspecting that could get the top award, but thankfully the top honor went to Broken that out of 9 nomination won one, but is the one that truly counts and matters.

Award winners are in *BLUE.


A few minutes ago BIFA's nominations were announced at St Martins Lane, London by actor and BIFA Patron, Adrian Lester.

Joint Directors, Johanna von Fischer & Tessa Collinson said: “In this our 15th year, we are delighted to welcome back six-time former host James Nesbitt. We would like to take this opportunity to thank our dedicated Pre-Selection Committee who watched over 200 films in order to produce the 2012 Nominations, which once again reflect the diverse range of British film talent, and also welcome this year’s appointed independent Jury who will now spend the next month considering the nominated films.”

First feature film and opening film at the 2012 Cannes Semaine de la Critique Broken by Rufus Norris has the highest number of nominations with nine (9) followed by 2012 Cannes Quinzaine des Réalisateurs Sightseers and Berberian Sound Studio with 7 nominations each.

These are the nominees.

Best British Independent Film
Berberian Sound Studio, Peter Strickland
*Broken, Rufus Norris
Sightseers, Ben Wheatley
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, John Madden
The Imposter, Bart Layton

Best Director
Bart Layton for The Imposter
Ben Wheatley for Sightseers
John Madden for The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
*Peter Strickland for Berberian Sound Studio
Rufus Norris for Broken

Best Debut Director
*Bart Layton for The Imposter
Ben Drew for Ill Manors
Rowan Athale for Wasteland
Rufus Norris for Broken
Sally El Hosaini for My Brother the Devil

Best Screenplay
Abi Morgan for The Iron Lady
*Alice Lowe, Steve Oram, and Amy Jump for Sightseers
Mark O'Rowe for Broken
Paul Andrew Williams for Song for Marion
Peter Strickland for Berberian Sound Studio

Best Actress
Alice Lowe in Sightseers
*Andrea Risenborough in Shadow Dancer
Elle Fanning in Ginger & Rosa
Judi Dench in The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Meryl Streep in The Iron Lady

Best Actor
Riz Ahmed in Ill Manors
Steve Oram in Sightseers
Terence Stamp in Song for Marion
Tim Roth for Broken
*Toby Jones in Berberian Sound Studio

Best Supporting Actress
Alice Englert in Ginger & Rosa
Eileen Davies in Sightseers
Maggie Smith in The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
*Olivia Colman in Hyde Park on Hudson
Vanessa Redgrave in Song for Marion

Best Supporting Actor
Billy Connolly in Quartet
Cillian Murphy in Broken
Domhnall Gleeson in Shadow Dancer
*Rory Kinnear in Broken
Tom Wilkinson in The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Most Promising Newcomer
Ellito Tittensor in Spike Island
Eloise Laurence in Broken
*James Floyd in My Brother the Devil
Paul Brannigan in The Angels' Share
Zawe Ashton in Dreams of a Life

Best Achievement in Production
*Berberian Sound Studio
Ill Manors
The Imposter
The Sweeney

Best Technical Achievement
Nick Knowland for Cinematography in Berberian Sound Studio
*Stevie Hayword and Joakim Sundström for Sound Design in Berberian Sound Studio
Electric Wave Bureau for Music in Broken
Robbie Ryan for Cinematography in Ginger & Rosa
Andrew Hulme for Editing in The Imposter

Best Documentary
Dreams of a Life, Carol Morley
London: The Modern Babylon, Julien Temple
Marley, Kevin Mcdonald
Roman Polanski: A Film Memoir, Laurent Bouzereau
*The Imposter, Bart Layton

Best British Short

Best International Independent Film
Amour (Love), Michael Haneke
Beast of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin
De rouille et d'os (Rust and Bone), Jacques Audiard
Searching For Sugar Man, Malik Bendjelloul
*Jagten (The Hunt), Thomas Vinterberg

The Raindance Award
Love Tomorrow
City Slacker
Janson Becker: Not Dead Yet, Jesse Vile

*The Richard Harris Award: Sir Michael Gambon
*The Variety Award: Jude Law
*The Special Jury Prize: Sandra Hebron

The award ceremony will be on Sunday, December 9 and to read the press release at the official site go here.

Perhaps because I have been following several of the nominated films plus there are great actors nominated, this year the awards will be must be seen for me. Besides there are a few films I was not aware of that now I'm interested in watching. Good.

No comments yet