2018/2019 Key Dates
2018 Film Critics Awards News: Today, February 4, Winners from Chicago IndependentFCC. Post has become FINAL!

Sunday, May 27, 2012

65th Festival de Cannes Caméra d’Or Winner

2012 Camera d'Or winner is in *BLUE.

The Caméra d’Or prize is awarded to the best First Film presented in the Official Selection (Competition, Out of Competition and Un Certain Regard), in Critics’ Week or Directors’ Fortnight. The Prize will be awarded by the president of the jury, Brazilian Carlos Diegues, at the Closing Ceremony on Sunday 27th May.

As you know I've been indicating in each Cannes post the first films, but this is the complete selection that includes first films in the Cannes Classics and Cinéma de la Plage programs.

These are the 25 films competing for the Camera d'Or.

Official Selection
Antiviral, Brandon Cronenberg, Canada and USA
*Beasts of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin, USA
Gimme the Loot, Adam Leon, USA
La Playa, Juan Andrés Arango, Colombia
Me and Me Dad, Katrine Boorman, UK and Ireland
Red Tails, Anthony Hemingway, USA
The Sapphires, Wayne Blair, Australia
Trashed, Candida Brady, UK
Villegas, Gonzalo Tobal, Argentina, Netherlands, and France

Quinzaine des réalisateurs
Alyah, Elie Wajerman, France
돼지의 왕 Dae gi eui wang (aka Dwae-ji-ui wang) (The King of Pigs), Yeun Sang-Ho, South Korea
Infancia Clandestina (Clandestine Childhood), Benjamin Avila, Argentina, Spain and Brazil
La Sirga, William Vega, Colombia, France and Mexico
Rengaine (Hold Back), Rachid Djaidani, France
Room 237, Rodney Ascher, USA
Yek Khanévadéh-e Mohtaram ( A Respectable Family), Massoud Bakhshi, Iran

Semaine de la Critique
Aquí y Allá, Antonio Méndez Esparza, Spain, USA and Mexico
Au galop (In A Rush), Louis-Do de Lencquesaing, France
המשגיחים Les Voisins de Dieu (God's Neighbors), Meni Yaesh, Israel and France
Hors les murs (Beyond the Walls), David Lambert, Belgium, Canada and France
Peddlers, Vasan Bala, India
Los Salvajes (The Wild Ones), Alejandro Fadel, Argentina
Sofia’s Last Ambulance, Ilian Metev, Germany, Croatia and Bulgaria
Broken, Rufus Norris, UK
Augustine, Alice Winocour, France

Caméra d’or Jury
President: Carlos Diegues, director, Brazil
Gloria Satta, journalist, Italy
Rémy Chevrin, representing the French Association of Film Cinematographers, France
Hervé Icovic, on behalf of the Federation of Cinema, Audiovisual and Multimedia Industries, France
Michel Andrieu, representing the Society of Film Directors, France
Francis Gavelle, the French Union of Film Critics, France

To check list and info about each film go here.  and to read info about each jury member go here.

No comments yet