Sunday, January 31, 2010

62nd Directors Guild of America Awards Winners

For the first time in the history of the Directors Guild of America a woman director has won the top award. Kathryn Bigelow is the first woman to take the DGA award in the 62 years of the DGA awards. Amazing!!!

Yes, Bigelow won the award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film with her film The Hurt Locker that I haven’t see yet (it’s a war movie) but that will see soon as got the dvd. The good news is that the DGA has been a near perfect barometer for the Best Director Award with only six times since the DGA Award’s inception has the DGA Award winner not won the Academy Award.

Surely she will be nominated next Tuesday and IF she wins, she will be the first ever woman to do so in eighty-two editions of the Academy Awards and as some say, it would be one of the most significant milestones in Oscar history. Can the so-called glass ceiling be broken? Let’s hope so.

So for clear viewing here is the award winner.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film: Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker

To check winners in all categories please go here.

Here are the 2010 nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film.

Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker
James Cameron for Avatar
Lee Daniels for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire
Jason Reitman for Up in The Air
Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds

As you can see the trend continues with the same movies that I have seen three of them, still pending Avatar and The Hurt Locker and for me is Quentin. We will see what happens on Saturday, January 30, 2010 when they have the award ceremony.

No comments yet