Sunday, March 07, 2010

25th Film Independent Spirit Awards

Winners are in *RED.

Yesterday the nominations were announced and here they are.

Best Feature
Sin Nombre
The Last Station
(500) Days of Summer

Best Director
James Gray for Two Lovers
Michael Hoffman for The Last Station
*Lee Daniels for Precious
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for A Serious Man
Carji Joji Fukunaga for Sin Nombre

Best First Feature
The Messenger
Easier With Practice
Paranormal Activity
*Crazy Heart
A Single Man

John Cassavetes Award (Best feature made under $500,000)
Zero Bridge
Treeless Mountain
The New Year Parade
Big Fan

Best Female Lead
Gwyneth Paltrow in Two Lovers
Helen Mirren in The Last Station
*Gaboure Sidibe in Precious
Maria Bello in Downloading Nancy
Nisreen Faour in Amreeka

Best Male Lead
*Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart
Souléymane Sy Savané in Goodbye Solo
Colin Firth in A Single Man
Adam Scott in The Vicious Kind
Joseph Gordon-Levitt in (500) Days of Summer

Best Foreign Film
La Nana (The Maid), Sebastian Silva
Mother, Bong Joon-Ho
Everlasting Moments, Jan Troell
*An Education, Lone Scheerfig
A Prophet, Jacques Audiard

To check the nominees in all the categories please go here. This is the awards show that last year I watched live online and had so much crazy fun, let’s hope that this year I’ll be able to do it again on Friday, March 5th, 2010 at 8pm PT and will be broadcast by IFC channel.

There are some surprises here and now I know that I’ll be watching the movie with Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart) and I couldn’t imagine La Nana competing against A Prophet… that’s amazing and congrats to Chile.

If you feel like watching the nominations go here.

Precious sweep the Spirit Awards winning all the categories were was nominated. Of course, The Hurt Locker was not nominated due to the fact that was nominated last year in a couple of not major categories where won nothing. I believe the credibility of these awards went down as omitting this movie was a terrible mistake. Still, I'm glad that Precious got some recognition. Sigh.

No comments yet