Monday, October 19, 2009

25th Warsaw Film Festival Award Winners

The fest ran from October 9 to 18 and here are the winners.

International Competition

Warsaw Grad Prix: Lourdes, Jessica Hausener, Austria, Germany and France
Her effortless storytelling brings a beautiful simplicity to a complex subject.

Special Jury Prize: La Pasion de Gabriel (The Passion of Gabriel), Luis Alberto Restrepo, Colombia
For the depiction of human courage in the face of the complex socio-political conflict in Colombia.

FIPRESCI Prize: Rewers (Reverse), Borys Lankosz, Poland
Audience Award (tie)
The Dark House, Wojciech Smarzowski, Poland
Welcome, Phillipe Lioret, France

1-2 Competition
Sheva Dakot Be’gan Eden (Seven Minutes in Heaven), Omri Givon, Israel
Eastern Plays, Kamen Kalev, Bulgaria and Sweden

Free Spirit Competition
Purgatorio (Purgatory), Roberto Rochin Naya, Mexico
Mal Dia Para Pescar (Bad Day to Go Fishing, Alvaro Brechner, Uruguay

To check winners in shorts and documentaries go here.

This is a great idea that many fest should emulate, check the winners in the following video

No comments yet