Friday, August 21, 2009

57th Donostia Zinemaldia Festival de San Sebastian – Zabaltegi New Directors Lineup

The San Sebastian International Film Festival will screen in this section 17 films from 13 countries that will compete for the Kuxta-New Directors Award. From these films, only three will compete in the Official Selection; the three are identified with an asterisk.

*11’e 10 Kala (10 to 11), Pelin Esmer, Turkey, Germany and France
77 Donorship, Pablo Aguero, Argentina and France
Animal Town, Jeon Kyuhwan, South Korea and USA
El Cuarto de Leo (Leo’s Room), Enrique Buchichio, Uruguay
Desperados on the Block, Tomasz E. Rudzik, Germany
Huit Fois Debout (Eight Times Up), Xabi Molia, France
*La Mujer Sin Piano (Woman Without Piano), Javier Rebollo, Spain
Le Jour Ou Dieu est Parti en Voyage (The Day God Walked Away), Philippe Van Leeuw, Belgium
Màscares (Masks), Elisabet Cabeza and Esteve Riambau, Spain
Min Dit (Before My Eyes), Miraz Bezar, Germany and Turkey
Norteando (Northless) Rigoberto Perezcano, Mexico and Spain
Ori, Miguel Angel Jiménez Colmenar, Spain and Georgia
Sammen (Together), Matias Armand Jordal, Norway
The Scouting Book for Boys, Tom Harper, UK
Wo de Tang (Seasons in the Sun), Zhang Huilin, China
*Yo También (Me Too), Alvaro Pastor and Antonio Naharro, Spain
Zorion Perfektua (Perfect Happiness), Jabi Elortegi, Spain

New Directors Jury
President: Actress Saffron Burrows
Directgor Borja Cobeaga
Journalist Antonio Gasset
Director Lucile Hadzihalilovic
Actor and director Daniel Hendler

To read info about each movie go here and here. In this section there are more new to the blog films with some that seem interesting. Will try to find trailers but probably is going to be hard as all are new directors and to my amazement many filmmakers do not have in top of their mind that the first and best marketing tool for their films is doing a good trailer that motivate viewership without telling too much about the plot, just enough for you to wish to see more.

No comments yet