Sunday, January 25, 2009

2009 Sundance Film Festival Award Winners - Final

Here are the awards winners for feature films.

U.S. Dramatic Competition
Grand Jury Prize: Push: Based on a novel by Sapphire, Lee Daniels; the film tells the redemptive story of Precious Jones, a young girl in Harlem struggling to overcome tremendous obstacles and discover her own voice.

Special Jury Prize for “Spirit of Independence”: Humpday, Lynn Shelton
Alfred P. Sloan Prize: Adam, Max Mayer press release.
Audience Award: Push: Based on the novel by Sapphire, Lee Daniels.
Excellence in Directing: Cary Joji Fukunaga for Sin Nombre; filmmaker Fukunaga's first-hand experiences with Mexican immigrants seeking the promise of the U.S. form the basis of this epic Spanish-language dramatic thriller.
Special Jury Prize For Acting: Mo’Nique, in Push: Based in a novel by Sapphire

World Dramatic Competition
Jury Prize: La Nana (The Maid), Sebastian Silva, Chile
Special Jury Prize for Originality: Louise-Michel, Benoit Delépine and Gustave de Kervern, France; about a group of disgruntled female French factory workers who, after the factory abruptly closes, pool their paltry compensation money to hire a hit man to knock off the corrupt executive behind the closure
Audience Award: An Education, Lone Scherfig, UK
Special Jury Prize: Catalina Saavedra in La Nana (The Maid)
Excellence in Directing: Oliver Hirschbiegel for Five Minutes of Heaven; UK and Ireland

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards
Ciencias Morales
(Moral Sciences), Diego Lerman, Argentina
The Girl, David Riker, USA
Speed Girl, Qurata Kenji, Japan
Evolution, Lucile Hadzihalilovic, France
press release

To check winners in Shorts Filmmaking go here and to check the winners in all the categories go here. Have to say that about the ONLY serious feature film competing in all the fest that is of lesbian interest winning the top award is amazing and now becomes a must be seen film because probably will have above production values and quality. Also is not often that the jury and audience award is given to the same movie as this is the second time. The only other movie to get the jury and audience top awards was gay interest Quinceañera.

No comments yet